Apple tart with crystalized ginger

Good thing to have stuff in the archives when you lack inspiration 😉 And this recipe even fits this month’s SHF theme of spices 🙂

I made this tartlet a few month’s ago with some apples I got from my friend M’s mother’s garden. Didn’t even know that apples were already ripe at the beginning of August. Though ripe they were pretty tart, making them perfect to use in pies and tarts imo. Instead of making a more ordinary apple pie or tart with cinnamon I added some crystalized ginger instead to spice it up.

I used cream cheese pastry for the crust but didn’t like it too much. Next time I’d definitely use a sweet shortcrust instead. Even though I added powdered ginger to the dough, I couldn’t taste it at all. It could work in a sweet shortcrust as sugar tends to enhance flavours.

Apple tart with crystalized ginger

makes a 15 cm (6 in) tart

â…” recipe of cream cheese pastry (this is what I used but wouldn’t use next time)

300-350 g (11-13 oz) tart apples, diced and ‘lemon juiced’

15 g (½ oz) butter

25 g (1 oz) sugar

10 g (â…“ oz) crystalized ginger, chopped

Preheat the oven to 200°C (400°F).

Press the pastry dough into a 15 cm (6 in) cake pan or springform pan. Line it with aluminium foil. Fill with uncooked beans, rice or pie weights. Bake for about 15 minutes or until the aluminium foil can be removed without it sticking to the crust. Lower the temperature to 180°C (350°F) and bake for another 5 minutes. Transfer the crusts to a wire rack to cool completely.

Preheat the oven to 180°C (350°F)

Sautee the diced apples in the butter for a few minutes and add the sugar the last minute.

Fill the partially baked crust with the apples. Bake for about 35-45 minutes until the crust is golden brown.

This entry was posted in Tarts & Pies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Apple tart with crystalized ginger

  1. snookydoodle says:

    this looks nice. I wonder what apple pie with ginger tastes like. I be never even tasted crystalised ginger. Eager to try this though seems interesting 🙂

  2. jennifer says:

    i think ground ginger in the dough is a great idea. do you think you just need a little more? oh! maybe crystallized ginger would be more potent.

  3. courtney(aka glamah16) says:

    I like the idea of crystalized ginger. Adds that extra umph!

  4. I love cristalized ginger Linda! You had this delicious tart hiden from us since August? I really have to try cream cheese dough, I don’t think I ever did. I’ll have to find a good recipe.

  5. Rosa says:

    Wonderful! I love that delightful combination!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  6. Emilia says:

    That looks lovely and rustic 🙂

    Ginger and apples go really well together, most of the time anyway, I used some ginger to flavour some of my apple jams and it works well there. I am also hoping it will keep some winter flu viruses away 🙂

    The cream cheese tart intrigues me too, it sounds like something I’d like.

  7. grace says:

    i believe you’re right, linda–a shortbread crust would be stellar for this. heck, it’s probably plenty stellar regardless of the crust. 🙂

  8. arfi says:

    mmm… i’d like to drizzle some of the butterscotch sauce on top, my fave of all the sauces hehehe… yum!

  9. Hannah says:

    Apples and ginger, a killer combo. Looks great too!

  10. Dee says:

    I like the restraint in this tart, Linda. It’s very elegant with the crystalized ginger 🙂 I’ve been meaning to try a cream cheese crust, but I can see why shortcrust would be better with this.

  11. Vera says:

    The tart looks yummy, Linda! You can’t go wrong with apples and ginger together.

  12. What a wonderful entry, Linda! I love ginger but have never tried it with apples. YUM!

  13. Wish I had something like this in the archives!

    I just happen to have a little candied ginger left over from last month’s bread ;0)

    Apples and ginger sound like just a natural!

    Looks wonderful Linda.

  14. veron says:

    I bet the crystallised ginger adds a spectacular flavor to the apple tart!

  15. natalia says:

    Ciao ! I just found your blog reading about a breastfeeding day but it is too late ! I’ll be in next year ! your ginger apple cake smells fantastic !

  16. Y says:

    I love crystallised ginger! This tart sounds lovely 🙂

  17. aran says:

    there is something about the fruits of autumn that makes me just want to make and make tarts. gorgeous!

  18. Sanela says:

    I love ginger! It looks great.

  19. Amalia says:

    Your blog is really nice 🙂

Leave a Reply

