Daring Bakers – Rocket, cherry tomato and parmesan pizza

Had to drag my tired body into the kitchen yesterday evening to start on the pizza dough for this month’s Daring Bakers challenge. I was debating wether or not it would be a better idea to just go to bed and make the pizza dough in the morning and then bake in the afternoon. Of course both ideas were good but alas not compatible. Because I wanted to photograph the pizza in daylight I made the dough in the evening.

With all the good bread we have in the Netherlands it’s surprising that bread flour is something that is pretty hard to find. In supermarkets you only have all purpose flour or bread mixes that already contain yeast, salt etc. The only option I had that was close by was try the health store. And hurray, they had flour made of durum wheat! However, when I opened the bag it struck me that the flour was very coarse, not as coarse as semolina but it was not dusty like regular flour 😦 The only alternative I had was all purpose flour but that has a low protein content so I wouldn’t be able to toss. So I used the flour I bought. The dough looked very weird, sort of like it curdled. The only thing I could do to save it was to add all purpose flour. I think I added several tablespoons (to half the recipe). In the end it was sort of workable but sticky. Instead of kneading for 5-7 minutes I did 10 minutes. The endresult looked ok-ish. Prepared them for the fridge and hoped for the best.

I let the dough sit on the counter for 2 hours and flattened the disk a little more before bouncing the dough on my fists. I don’t remember at which bounce the dough stretched till a millimeter thickness, it all happened so fast πŸ˜‰ So it already looked like a tossed pizza but I hadn’t actually tossed it. To comply to Rosa‘s rules I threw the dough in the air and caught it while it was double. I was able to detach the halfs but the dough was even thinner than before and I still had to transfer it to my baking sheet. I didn’t know how to do that in neat manner so the dough folded again but again I managed to get it straight. The dough was really really thin, at one spot there even was a small hole. But all in all I was very happy so far. I managed to make it so thin that it measured 32 cm (12 ½ in).

My goal for this pizza was trying to recreate my favourite pizza at my favourite pizzeria whilst I lived in Tel Aviv. Once I tasted the arugola pizza at Stuzzi I never tried a different one after that. Basically it’s a baked crust with tomato sauce. Once out of the oven it is topped with rocket, cherry tomatoes, parmesan, coarse salt and olive oil. The perfect pizza in my eyes, and it doubles as a salad.

So I topped my pizza with pureed canned tomatoes, baked it for 8 minutes. Let it cool for a few minutes and added the rest of the toppings. Even though it didn’t taste exactly like the one at Stuzzi’s, it was close enough to enjoy thoroughly. I even ate the whole pizza in one go even though I had lunch 2 hours before.

I think that the crust was why it didn’t taste as good as the Stuzzi one. It was thin and crunchy but it needed a bit more salt (because I had to add more flour than called for). The tomato sauce tasted a tiny bit too intense, maybe because my crust was so very thin (I’m not even kidding, it was 1 mm thin in the middle part). Or maybe my hormones where acting up πŸ˜‰ Probably a combination of the two.

I only made half the recipe and only baked 1 pizza. Still have 2 dough balls to toss. Will try the bouncing thing without flattening the disk first, see if that helps.

Loved doing this challenge, I’m sure I would never have tried tossing pizza dough myself.

Check out how host Rosa did here, you’ll also find the recipe there.

And the list of all the other Daring Bakers is here.

This entry was posted in Pizza and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Daring Bakers – Rocket, cherry tomato and parmesan pizza

  1. Oh that’s excellent Linda. I really love the idea of keeping the toppings fresh like a salad!

    And yes I could no more have tossed this than I could fly. It was thin and round in the blink of an eye. I used all purpose flour and no oil.

  2. Rosa says:

    What a delightful pizza! I love your choice of toppings! Very well done!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  3. Arlene says:

    Love rocket, love parmesan, love pizza…yours.

  4. Courtney says:

    the picture turned out great, so it was worth it to do it last night. looks divine, the salad topping is always yummy.

  5. Ruth says:

    I love salad pizza and yours looks amazing! Your pizza is so thin and lovely

  6. courtney says:

    I like thisn crusts and these salad type pizzas. Your hormones are affecting the taste buds. But baby wanted the whole pizza, so its a good sign!

  7. snookydoodle says:

    yummy pizza πŸ™‚ well done !!

  8. Lesley says:

    Those ingredients look so fresh and healthy on that pizza. A great idea. I need more greens on my pizza I think!

  9. Y says:

    Beautiful pizza, Linda. I love those photos.

  10. KO says:

    I catch your drift about the salad on top of pizza! Makes for a good one and much healthier! I want to take your picture off my computer screen and stuff it in my face. Incredible pie!

    πŸ™‚

  11. Ivonne says:

    Beautiful pizza, Linda! I love that you call arugula rocket. Here we call it arugula but I think rocket is so much better! Interesting about the flour, too. Bread flour is more easily available here now but lately I’ve become interested in durum so that’s good to know that you had good results.

  12. Miss Ifi says:

    That pizza looks mighty fine!! wow… can’t believe you couldn’t find bread flour…I was actually a bit scared of using bread flour so I didn’t even look, I just went directly for my 10kg bag of all purpose flour.

    mmm rocket

  13. Hannah says:

    Your toppings look so fresh and delicious, just lovely!

  14. Tanya says:

    That pizza looks amazing! So fresh and the colors are beautiful. Great work!

  15. bigboysoven says:

    this pizza looks very refreshing having all those green toppings, you did a fantastic job!

  16. Hypnosis says:

    that looks soooo yummy, healthy and fresh!!!

  17. Christy says:

    Love the toppings!! It’s always so hard to recreate flavours that you have tasted somewhere else. Maybe it’s something to do with our feelings then that we can’t recreate now, or maybe it’s merely down to different types of ingredients.

    But good job on working with the durum wheat. It used to be pretty hard to find bread flour here too, but my local supermarket now keeps a stock of it. I hope they do the same where you are. Otherwise, tehre’s always the option of buying from a wholesaler!

  18. arfi says:

    i think this is a fresh idea of making pizza. love this!

  19. Lorraine E says:

    That looks so lovely and fresh! I love the colours and I bet it tastes superb

  20. Meeta says:

    rucola is always one of my favorite toppings for pizza. i love having leafy items on my pizza and thing rucola adds such a wonderful flavor. brilliant!

  21. jillian says:

    Your pizza looks so fresh and healthy! Beautiful!

  22. ovenhaven says:

    What a great healthy spread of toppings! Beautiful πŸ™‚

    Oh, and a huge congrats on the baby bump news, dearie *hugs* I’m so excited for you!

  23. Chou says:

    Waiting for the daylight was well worth it. This combination sounds perfect for a light dinner. I hope to make it to Tel Aviv to try Stuzzi after your recommendation!

  24. Shari says:

    I’ve never heard of rucola! Sounds interesting!

  25. That’s like an healthy pizza! Very nice!

  26. Jude says:

    Looks so nice and fresh. Love the colorful toppings!

  27. Miri says:

    YUM! The Stuzzi pizza indeed was great, as were many of their dishes. We recently went to “Allora”, the place that opened instead, and were disappointed to find out that the food nowadays isn’t half as good..

    Your pizza looks great! Interesting that you’ve made it with durum flour, which is usually used for making pasta, I would have loved to taste it.

  28. Vera says:

    Linda, the pizza looks delicious! Nothing beats fresh arugula!

  29. Ida says:

    I like the idea of putting fresh stuff on pizza.

Leave a Reply

