Honey ricotta cake with sauteed nectarines

Before I went to Croatia I promised you the recipe of this cake. Sorry it took so long to finally post about it. Anyways…I kept on seeing this ricotta honey cake in this fun little baking book called Bake It. It looked so delicious that I had to try it out. Also a great way to use up the kg of ricotta that was left over from my birthday party. I was planning to make cheese filled kadaif but the kadaif dough I bought was off even though the use by date was ok. I guess it’s wasn’t properly stored at the store. Luckily the ricotta’s use by date was somewhere in September so I wasn’t pressed to use it immediately.

So I finally make this cake and I don’t like it 😦 It’s probably just me being difficult so I’m going to give you the recipe regardless.

It was both the taste and the texture I didn’t like. I guess the texture had a lot to do with ricotta being the main ingredient. It was the first time I baked with ricotta, even had ricotta. I think the only ricotta I’ve eaten was inside tortellini. And maybe the fact that I made the recipe gluten-free by using cornflour instead of regular flour had a little bit to do with it too….I don’t know.

The honey I used was too heavy, I’m not much of a honey connaisseur so when I read thyme honey in the supermarket it sounded delicious. I did have a little taste and thought it was good but quite heavy but thought it would be ok in the cake…it was not 😦 The cake was totally edible but just not my cup of tea. Can’t win them all 😉

ps I made half the recipe but I thought the nectarines we’re a bit too big for the slices of cake. The recipe below is the original size.

Honey ricotta cake with sauteed nectarines (adapted from the Dutch version of Bake It by Murdoch Books)

makes a 18 cm (7 in) cake

1 kg (2 lb 7 oz) ricotta

175 g (6 oz) mild honey

seeds of 1 vanilla bean

60 ml (¼ cup) lemon juice

2 lemons, finely zested

4 eggs, lightly beaten

35 g (1 ¼ oz) flour ( I used cornflour)

2-3 nectarines, in 8 slices each

1 tbs butter

Preheat the oven to 180°C (350°F). Grease a 18 cm (7 in) springform and dust with flour.

Puree the ricotta in a food processor. Add the honey, vanilla bean seeds, lemon juice and zest, and eggs. Mix until well blended. Add the flourand pulse until just blended.

Spoon the mixture into the prepared springform and bake for 1 hour or until lightly golden brown and somewhat soft in the middle. Turn off the oven, open the oven a tiny bit and allow the cake to cool in the oven. Chill the cake in the fridge before taking it out of the springform.

Sautee the nectarines in the butter for 1-2 minutes.

Serve at room temperature with the nectarines.

This entry was posted in Cakes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Honey ricotta cake with sauteed nectarines

  1. Rosa says:

    A delightful cake! Really scrumptious looking!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  2. Ginny says:

    Beautiful! Looks great!

  3. snookydoodle says:

    this looks nice regardless of your comments. I like ricotta but in the right proportion perhaps this would be too much for me too. I have just made a cake with almond and ricotta and it was yummy. I ll be posting about it soon. the peaches on top look nice 🙂

  4. natalia says:

    Ciao! I’m sorry you didn’t like the cake ! but it looked beautiful ! You see there are different type of ricotta and, most of all, they must be used very fast ! Maybe if once you came to Roma I’ll let you try la ricotta romana ! I just remenbered of a cheese pie made by my relatives in beograd (I always have problems saying from where they are: they are all mixed up !) Radenko made for me this lekkar thing .. any clue ? it was salty and the crust was very good but it is impossible I know!

  5. Lyvvie says:

    This looks wonderful! I wonder if by adding a little more cornflour, I could omit the eggs? Or maybe use gelatin? My daughter and father-in-law are allergic to eggs so I’ll have to tinker with the recipe, but I love the sound of it and I don’t think any mistakes will be wasted.

  6. Dee says:

    Congratulations on the bun in the oven, Linda! How exciting 🙂 I hope you’re feeling better now.

    I’m sorry the cake didn’t turn out – it looks very beautiful and so smooth. I’ve baked with ricotta – a cheesecake – and managed a whole load of lumps and bumps.

  7. Miri says:

    Linda, this cake looks wonderful, and I bet the nectarines give it a great up-kick. Sorry you didn’t like it, but I’m sure it’s just great and I probably would have loved it.

  8. Hannah says:

    Oh, sounds like a very sophisticated cheesecake. What a treat!

  9. Emilia says:

    It looks really nice and delicious, kind of surprising that it wasn’t all that good.

    Maybe it was the corn flour, I can’t imagine it would have been the ricotta?

  10. I really love ricotta and it’s something I almost never buy. Now I feel like buying it 😉 This cake must have a very subtle but good flavour. Delicious!

  11. Y says:

    I don’t often bake with ricotta – it can be a bit hit or miss sometimes, I find. Your cake sounds kind of nice though, with the honey.

  12. Hollianne says:

    Instead of eggs, try psyllium husk and water, this is an egg substitute. Check it out in any allergy free cookbook or look for “substitutions for eggs” online.

    You can also replace the eggs with bananas. This would give the ricotta a great flavor too.

  13. That’s too bad, Linda, because it looks wonderful. I have baked with ricotta and actually really liked it. Maybe a different recipe would change your mind?

  14. grace says:

    what a TREMENDOUS cake. so smooth and creamy, rich and undoubtedly delicious. thank you for sharing the recipe! 🙂

  15. Tea says:

    Oh boy….I WANT IT! :))

  16. Willemien says:

    I could not stand that- spending hours in the kitchen, finding out I do not like what i’ve made… hopefully other people enjoyed!

    Willemien

  17. linda says:

    Rosa & Ginny – thanks 🙂

    Snookydoodle – ricotta and almond sound delicious!

    Natalia – Maybe it just was the kind of ricotta I used. Maybe the cheese pie is burek?

    Holliane – thanks for that info, that’s really helpful!

    Dee – thanks 🙂 I feel a bit better now. I was very happy about it looks 🙂

    Miri – thanks 🙂 The nectarines did make a difference.

    Hannah – thanks 🙂

    Emilia – thanks 🙂 Maybe I should try it with wheat flour to see.

    Clumbsycookie – sometimes things are not what they seem 😉

    Y – I hope the ricotta itself was not the problem

    Susan – I tried a different recipe afterwards and I did like that one a lot 🙂

    Grace – it was smooth 😉

    Tea – I shouldn’t have thrown it in the bin 😉

    Willemien – you can’t win them all 😉 I didn’t even let anybody else taste it, after tasting it, it went straight in the bin, ate the nectaries though 🙂

  18. natalia says:

    Ciao ! Yes maybe that is the one !Do you make your own dough for it ? If you decide to come to Rome let me know !!

  19. Aran says:

    Looks so wonderful linda. i particularly like the sharp cut. love it!

  20. ovenhaven says:

    So sorry to hear the cake wasn’t your cup of tea, after all that work. But it sure looks amazing! 🙂

  21. courtney says:

    I ma sorry you didnt like it, but it looks great!

  22. Vera says:

    Linda, I’m sure it’s a matter of taste. I would love this cake! The slice looks fantastic!

  23. Sarah says:

    Too bad it wasn’t a favorite! I had wanted to make a ricotta cheesecake but was never sure if I could appreciate the texture. I also don’t love the taste of honey, so I guess this recipe wouldn’t win me over either. 😉

  24. This looks so light and dreamy! What a gorgeous dessert!

  25. Jude says:

    Oh yeah…. That dense ricotta cake looks amazing.

Leave a comment