Ricotta cheesecake squares with apples & blueberries

After my not so positive encounter with ricotta in the form of honey cheesecake I took the bull by its horns again and made another recipe with ricotta right after it. I found an easy recipe on allrecipes.com and decided to try it out.

The bottom part is a cake layer and the upper part is ricotta cheesecake. This time no honey and no cornflour. Instead of using fresh blueberries the original recipe called for I used apples from my best friend’s garden and added some homemade blueberry jam (also from her garden). And what do ya know, it was delicious! Ricotta is my friend 😉

This was one from the archives again but I hope that soon I can start baking again. The nausea is very slowly getting better but the smell of cookies is still a bit too much though. I did try baking a cobbler the other day and I could stand the smell 🙂 I plan on making a spinach quiche this weekend. I think we’re getting somewhere 😉

This is my contribution to Maninas Eating with the Seasons November edition.

Ricotta cheesecake squares with apples & blueberries (adapted from this recipe on allrecipes.com)

makes a 9 in (23 cm) square

1 cup flour

¾ cup sugar

1 ¼ ts baking powder

â…“ cup milk

¼ cup butter, softened

1 egg

½ ts almond extract

1 ½ cups diced apples

about 5 tbs blueberry jam

2 eggs, beaten

1 ¼ cups ricotta cheese

â…“ cup sugar

½ vanilla bean, seeds only

Preheat the oven to 350°F (175°C). Grease a 9 in (23 cm) square baking dish.

In a large bowl, stir together the flour, ¾ cup of sugar, and baking powder. Add the milk, butter, 1 egg, and almond extract. Use an electric mixer to mix on low speed for 1 minute, then on medium speed for 1 minute. Pour the batter into the prepared pan, and spread evenly. Sprinkle the diced apples over the batter. Drop small teaspoons of blueberry jam over the batter.

In a medium bowl, stir together 2 beaten eggs, ricotta cheese, â…“ cup of sugar, and vanilla bean seeds. Spoon this mixture over the blueberries, and spread evenly.

Bake for 55 to 60 minutes until a knife inserted near the center comes out clean (it won’t brown very much). Cool completely before cutting into squares.

This entry was posted in Cakes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Ricotta cheesecake squares with apples & blueberries

  1. Rosa says:

    An interesting cheesecake recipe! Really delicious looking and sounding!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  2. Lien says:

    Yummy these look sóo good, I want to take a bite right now while drinking my coffee. Lovely recipe with the cakelayer and the moist ricotta layer on top! Glad your nausea is diminishing a bit!

  3. Good to know you made peace with ricotta, he’s a good guy I think! It’s lovely to see the blueberries pocking in the squares, it’s a lovely color!

  4. LOVE the look of this one. I once made ricotta and was stunned by how much better than store bought it was. It would be beautiful with this I’m sure.

    It will be lovely the day you wake and find you’ve lost the nausea 😉 but less is a good thing!

  5. Emilia says:

    Those look delicious! Much like a quark cake or pie, which usually taste very good.

    Hope the nausea passes eventually, it usually does after the beginning of the pregnancy?

  6. Dee says:

    Looking at your cake, I want ricotta to be my BFF 🙂 I’m glad the nausea’s fading, and I’m jealous that you’re losing weight. I was a right whale when I was pregnant 😦 Have a good weekend Linda!

  7. grace says:

    linda, these are gorgeous and completely glorious! and what do you know, i just happen to have a fresh batch of blueberry jam… 🙂

  8. Sarah says:

    What a great compromise after the last ricotta encounter…lots of yummy cake topped with a just-enough layer of cheesecake! I’ll have to try this one soon! Beautiful pictures.

  9. Farhan says:

    The purple looks stunning! Yay for ricotta!

  10. Hannah says:

    What a unique sort of bar- They look somewhat cakey, but fruity, and cheesecakey on top. Sounds awesome!

  11. Vera says:

    Linda, I’m glad you are feeling better!

    The cake looks delicious! That’s great you’ve changed your opinion about ricotta cake 🙂

  12. Aran says:

    Great to see that the nausea is taming enough to bake some more. I remember it as being the worst during the first three months. The smells… I couldn’t even go to the store! These squares look divine!

  13. snookydoodle says:

    I love ricotta. I have just made some cakes with it and fell in love 🙂 especially when paired with lemon anc chocolate or almonds yummy this recipe looks delicious too

  14. linda says:

    Tanna – Next time I’ll just have to make it myself 😉

    If I would wake up to find I’ve lost the nausea I would think something is wrong. Happy it’s getting better all the time

    Emilia – on average after 12-13 weeks

    Dee – I wasn’t heavy before getting pregnant but I did look 3 months pregnant because my belly never really went in. So now that I’m 3 months pregnant, I look like 5!

    Aran – all the smells around you are the worst, would be great to turn off your nose 😉

  15. I wonder if I could replace the jam by some frozen blueberries… Is the batter sweet enough to compensate for the tartness of the fruit, do you think?

  16. Ida says:

    Hi, I just loved those picks. Looks delicious.

    In finland the blueberrypie I have used to has some quark on it and this looks just like something that would be awesome for my taste.

Leave a Reply

