Apricotina – dried apricot balls with pistachio filling

The spinach quiche I wanted to bake last weekend will be baked next week. I was too busy and tired to make it. But I did manage to bake something and I liked the smell and even the taste πŸ™‚ It’s a spice cake I sometimes make. Even though it was delicious it didn’t look anything as pretty as the one I baked here. I did use a different recipe so probably that was the reason behind it. I won’t be sharing the spice cake with you because the pictures would have been too ugly πŸ˜‰

What I do want to share with you is this simple and healthy sweet I made for my birthday party some month’s ago from Claudia Roden’s The New Book of Middle Eastern Food. Don’t you just love sweets with only 3 ingredients?

This is my entry to Suganya’s Vegan Ventures.

Apricotina (from the Dutch version of The New Book of Middle Eastern Food by Claudia Roden)

makes about 50

1 ½ tbs pistachio’s, finely chopped

1 ½ tbs caster sugar

500 g (1 lb) dried apricots

some tbs icing sugar

more icing sugar

pistachio’s

Mix the chopped pistachio’s and the caster sugar together, set aside.

Process the apricots in a foodprocessor.

Add some tablespoons of icing sugar. Knead by hand until well mixed (wet your hands a bit from time to time to prevent sticking).

Roll the apricot puree into a small ball, press in the middle with your finger in order to create a depression to put a little bit of the pistachio mixture inside. Cover the filling and roll into a ball. Roll the ball in icing sugar and press a pistachio into it. Repeat with the rest of the apricot puree.

Allow to dry for a night.

This entry was posted in Candy and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Apricotina – dried apricot balls with pistachio filling

  1. Rosa says:

    Oh, wonderful! Such a refined treat!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  2. snookydoodle says:

    these look really cute an best of all are really easy to do πŸ™‚ have to try these πŸ™‚

  3. natalia says:

    They look so beautiful ! Did you try those anti nausea ‘pressure’ bracelets (ususlly they are for car sickness)

  4. 3 ingredients: I’m sold! And apricots and pistachios go soooooooo well together!

  5. ovenhaven says:

    I absolutely love the fact that this has such few ingredients! And sweetie, I don’t think it’s possible for you to actually have “ugly” pictures. You’re much too humble πŸ™‚

  6. Could it get any simpler or more beautiful!

    I like this a lot Linda!

  7. arfi says:

    this feels so refreshing with that glistening surface of the balls. perfect for a sweetmeat!

  8. hanne says:

    Wow, this looks like a fantastic sweet. I’ve looked through Roden’s book, but I (somehow) didn’t notice this recipe. You’re right, simple sweets are very nice, especially ones you can justify as healthy.

  9. Sofia says:

    The photos are gorgeous and all there flavors sound delicious.

  10. Emilia says:

    Those look delicious!

    I am trying to think of some sort of sweets for Christmas, and these would be something that would work well, along with truffles πŸ™‚

  11. Dee says:

    Oh yes, I do like it indeed πŸ™‚ So the icing sugar helps the ball stay in shape?

  12. These would be a hit among the brigadeiros and beijinhos in our birthday parties here, Linda!

  13. grace says:

    i can’t stand fresh apricots, but i love the dried ones–what’s that about? great little treats, linda. πŸ™‚

  14. Tea says:

    Hehehe, Nutella is the best! It’s sweet yes, and even though I don’t have a sweet tooth it still tastes amazing!! πŸ™‚

    And…congratz on your little ”parasite”, hehe that was finny :))

  15. This looks great. I like the idea of these ingredients together!

  16. Mike says:

    These sound so simple but look amazing! Great work

  17. Hannah says:

    I don’t know if my food processor is hardy enough to process anything that smooth, but I’m sorely tempted to try… Those look so good! Like sweet little jewels, in fact.

  18. linda says:

    Natalia – I haven’t tried those bracelets, maybe they could work. Luckily it’s getting better so I won’t need to try them out.

    Ovenhaven – I can sure make ugly pictures, but you usually don’t see them πŸ˜‰

    Dee – I didn’t think the icing sugar helped in that sense, it made them more glossy overnight.

    Patricia – warn people they will not be as sweet as the brigadeiros and beijinhos πŸ˜‰

    Hannay – I’m sure your food processor can handle it, it doesn’t even have to be that smooth. The original recipe even talks about chopping them finely.

  19. courtney(aka glamah16) says:

    Now that is a great healhty treat that would be way more sastifying than candy.

  20. Miri says:

    No doubt about it – 3 ingredienys desserts that are actually tasty are pure genius! Looks yummy!

  21. Jenn says:

    do you think these would be good with some other dried fruit mixed in? i’m addicted to dried cranberries and cherries, and i don’t have a full pound of apricots to use up. =) look scrumptious.

  22. Vera says:

    These treats are lovely, Linda! I’m thinking maybe a drop of orange flower water might be a good addition…

  23. The colors are just splendid, Linda. They would be lovely for Christmas too.

Leave a Reply

