Mustacudos de muez – Walnut cookies flavoured with cinnamon and orange

(in case you’re wondering half way reading this if I realize that my post is called Mustacudos de muez – Walnut cookies flavoured with cinnamon and orange….I do 😉

I rediscovered some cookbooks that have been on my bookshelves for years and years. Two books on the French kitchen written by Julia Child. Back then I didn’t even know who Julia Child was and wasn’t very interested in the French kitchen. It was sort of a surprise that I had books by Julia Child on my shelves, never knew it. Anyway, one of the books is on lunch dishes and in this book I found the spinach quiche I wanted to make some time ago. A doesn’t like savoury pies and tarts so I haven’t made anything of the sorts in over 9 years. Making the dough for this quiche the French way with lots and lots of butter was trickier than I imagined. I thought rolling the dough between baking parchement would help like it does with sweet shortcrust dough but it didn’t work that well. I wasn’t able to roll it out to the desired thinness of 3 mm and ended up having a much thicker crust. Of course I was pressed for time when I baked it (had to be ready for lunch with the in-laws) so I didn’t blind bake it long enough (did I mention that I forgot to prick the bottom with a fork?). If I would have been baking in a more relaxed fashion I would have been smart enough to blind bake it some more to compensate for the thickness. So after blind baking I pricked it with a fork and returned it to the oven. Of course the bottom puffed up enormously. Also the sides puffed up, well not really up, more inward. Looked pretty though in the oven, like a big flower 😉 This time I did bake it longer than Julia said. After taking it out of the oven I just pressed the bottom down with a crème brûlée dish. The tart shell didn’t look all that pretty, though it did improve when I baked it with the filling (which was really delicious btw). Not being happy with the crust (looks and done-ness) and the lack of time to make pictures I decided not to feature this recipe on my blog. Maybe in the future, who knows. So instead I’m giving you the very last recipe that I made for my Middle Eastern themed birthday party: Walnut cookies with cinnamon and orange. The cookies are very easy to make, naturally gluten-free and delicious 🙂 It’s another recipe from Claudia Roden, this time from The Book of Jewish Food. According to Claudia the cookies are made by Turkish Jews, I presume for Passover as they don’t have any flour in them.

Mustacudos de muez – Walnut cookies flavoured with cinnamon and orange (from the Dutch version of The book of Jewish food by Claudia Roden)

makes about 16

250 g (9 oz) walnuts

90 g (3 ¼ oz) sugar

1 egg

zest of ¾ orange

1 ts cinnamon

Preheat the oven to 180°C (350°F). Line a baking sheet with baking paper or grease the baking sheet.

Process all ingredients in the food processor until a medium coarse paste. Roll into walnut sized balls with wetted of greased hands.

Bake the balls for about 25 minutes.

This entry was posted in Cookies (sweet) and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Mustacudos de muez – Walnut cookies flavoured with cinnamon and orange

  1. Emilia says:

    The cookies sound and look perfect, I love cookies made with nuts, but I haven’t tried walnuts.

  2. Rosa says:

    OMG, those cookies must taste incredibly good! I love that combo!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  3. This looks great. I love nut-based cookies (well, nut-based food). The ingredient list is short and simple, which bodes well.

  4. arfi says:

    I’ve been wanting to buy Child’s cookbook, but seems that I always come back to Nigel Slater hehehe… These sound really nice with the spices mixture, Linda. Perfect for Christmas.

  5. I know I would love those! I really really love walnuts. And I think their name is kind of cool too!

  6. grace says:

    what a unique cookie! although i haven’t tried one like it, i know i’d love ’em simply because they contain my magic ingredient. 🙂

  7. natalia says:

    Ciao ! From your activities in the kitchen it seems ou feel better I’m glad ! I’ll have to bake this tomorrow for my dear celica friend who needs confort !

  8. Mike says:

    Sorry to hear about the tart shell–next time, right? As for those cookies, those look awesome and I love the sound of that flavor

  9. Hannah says:

    Oh, what a great cookie for this season! I bet it would be great for Thanksgiving dessert even.

  10. Dee says:

    I have Claudia’s book too, but so far it’s just for bedside tabel reading. Love the fascinating insights. The cookies sound delicious so maybe I should take the book into the kitchen for a change 🙂

  11. Now I’m left wanting a spinach quiche (I haven’t made one for years) and the cookies!

    Walnut and cinnamon are just made for the holidays!

  12. Lien says:

    Isn’t that fun to ‘find’ a cookbook on your shelves and wonder why you never cooked or baked something out of it before!! And making things in a hurry is always hard. I love those cookies!!!

  13. Vera says:

    The most important is the quiche tasted great. I hope, Linda, you will share the filling recipe one day.

    The cookies look yummy!

  14. ovenhaven says:

    Sorry to hear about the tart shell, but I guess all’s well with the addition of the wonderful filling? 🙂

    I can’t begin to imagine how the cookies would taste like. Orange, walnuts and cinnamon? Sounds delish! How’s the texture like?

  15. Miri says:

    These cookies sound interesting and yummy!

  16. Anne says:

    These look adorable. I’m tempted to make a batch and give them out to friends for the holidays.

  17. Christy says:

    sorry about your drama with the tart shell, but I’m sure it tasted fabulous in the end and that’s what matters!!

    The cookies are looking very scrumptious!!

  18. dhanggit says:

    walnut, orange and cinnamon…how can we go wrong with that? Love the flavors, hope I could try this recipe someday! Thanks for sharing! I’m glad to be back I miss terribly nibbling your sweet stuffs 🙂

  19. Aran says:

    they looks gooey and nutty and delicious linda! thanks for the warm thanksgiving wishes and i hope you are feeling well and healthy!

  20. courtney(aka glamah16) says:

    You know I have to revisit this book. It is a great read with terrific recipes.

  21. MariannaF says:

    these sound like very interesting and delicious cookies!! The flavours all together just sound amazing!there is a lot of yummy stuff happening on your blog these days!!

Leave a Reply

