Daring Bakers – Entremet

I wish I finished this month’s Daring Baker’s challenge on the day I intended: on Christmas eve. This was the evening I invited family for a Christmas diner. I already did some preparations to make it but just before going to bed on the 23rd I discovered that I wouldn’t be able to finish the entremet in time because of lack of time. I didn’t register that you had to freeze it overnight in between 😦 Lucky for me that this dessert was one of the desserts I planned on making so it was no problem from my guests. But I was sad that I didn’t have this showstopper to serve along with the rest. In the end it turned out I wouldn’t have been able to make it in time anyway even without the overnight freezing. I wasn’t going to make this dessert for just the 4 of us so I finished it today to take with us to friends of ours who have recently moved to the US and are back in the Netherlands for the Holidays. We’re spending the last days of 2008 with them in a holiday home near Apeldoorn. I don’t think there will be an internet connection over there so you’ll have to manage with only a picture of the outside. Will provide the inside when we get back on the 31st.

I didn’t do extravagant things with the flavours, I left the dark chocolate mousse as the recipe, same for the crème brûlée and crispy chocolate insert. The only things I flavoured differently were the ganache that I flavoured with orange essential oil, yum! Added about 15 drops. For the dacquoise I used 10% bitter almonds to get a stronger almond taste and flavoured it with ½ ts of cinnamon. The end result was just delicious! It tasted like good marzipan flavoured with cinnamon, definitely a keeper! I’m curious how the complete dessert will taste.

So how was the process? A quick recap:

– The crème brûlée took a LOT longer to set, I think it took double the time, besides that it was easy to make (was the first time I made crème brûlée 🙂

– The crispy chocolate insert was easy, I used a butterscotch chocolate bar (with small pieces of crunchy caramel bits) in addition to the praline.

– I couldn’t find glucose of corn syrup (not common in the Netherlands, the shop I knew where to get it was sold out from Thanksgiving and were only able to get a new batch at the end of January!). Instead I used something could corn/malt syrup, someting I found in the health shop. Didn’t taste the same but I guessed it more or less had the same qualities. Worked out fine.

– I heated the pâté à bombe in a double boiler after adding the mixing in the sugar syrup because according to my calculations there was no way the egg yolks would be cooked enough to make it pregnant woman and children proof. This also makes the pâté à bombe even more stable. While checking the temperature I ruined my electric thermometer, it got stuck between the whisks of my hand mixer 😦 The hand mixer is in bad shape too 😦

– Mousse worked well, though it was a bit on the bitter side because I used 70% chocolate.

– Ganache was easy and tasted very good (have left-over 🙂

– Assembly wasn’t difficult but I’m curious if the layers will be parallel

– I added an extra layer of crunchy chocolate against the ganache.

– I was distracted during the making of the chocolate icing so it nearly boiled over. Ended up with small lumps too. Removed them when possible after icing.

– Though the icing covered the back of a spoon I think it was still too liquid when I poured it over the mousse. Well better too liquid than too stiff.

– I used marzipan dipped in cocoa for decoration

Like I said, I’m curious about how all components taste together. Also curious about the textures in frozen state. Will update about that on the 31st , together with a picture of the inside.

Update:

I tasted the entremet and thought it was good but like I already said, the mousse was a bit on the bitter and not so sweet side. Would use a chocolate with less cocoa content next time. The orange ganache was a delicious addition. The dacqoise didn’t come through like it did on it’s own but was still a good base. My layers were pretty level, so I was happy with that. Above the crème brûlée is a not so visible crispy chocolate layer. The picture is not very clear but from the bottom there is almond cinnamon dacqoise, orange ganache, crispy chocolate, chocolate mousse, crème brûlée, chocolate mousse, crispy chocolate, more chocolate mousse and chocolate glaze.

Sorry about the not so clean cut 😉

This month’s challenge is brought to us by the adventurous Hilda from Saffron and Blueberry and Marion from Il en Faut Peu Pour Etre Heureux.

They have chosen a French Yule Log by Flore from Florilege Gourmand.

This entry was posted in Desserts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Daring Bakers – Entremet

  1. Dharm says:

    Well done on the challenge! I too had issues with the creme brulee setting but this was certainly a lovely dessert! A Blessed Christmas to you and yours.

  2. Aran says:

    this was a challenge wasn’t it? better late than never for this one sine it was magnificent!

  3. Rosa says:

    Very pretty! I love it’s shape and marzipan decorations! Elegant!

    Best wishes for the New Year!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  4. jo says:

    oh wow what a cute yule log. i have yet to see one in this shape, great job and love the decorations.

  5. Kelly says:

    Love your marzipan decorations – they look too cute! Great job!

  6. raquel says:

    fantastic job! i love that dome…and the marzipans. yummy!!!!

  7. natalia says:

    Dear Linda ! How brave have you been ! I have postponed it and now I’m going to make at the last minute !!!

  8. This looks really nice and by the way you describe it seems delicious. Eager to see more photos of this heavenly dessert

  9. claire says:

    Well it looks just beautiful on the outside! Your glaze is so wonderfully shiny.

  10. Gfron1 says:

    Absolutely stunning! Beautiful glaze work.

  11. Beautiful!! Your log looks awesome.

  12. Joanna says:

    Wonderful looking entremet, the chocolate decorations are so classy and elegant. I can taste it now! Way to go on this month’s challenge… keep up the great bakes!

  13. Olga says:

    It looks absolutely adorable!

  14. Vibi says:

    Super cute, Linda!

    So true to your style… delicate, simple, dainty… yet, totaly spunky! LOL

    A happy new year to you, and wishing you, of course, many joyous moments to come throughout this coming year!

  15. Wendy says:

    Wow! I love your yule cake. It looks great!

  16. I love how you transformed it in a half a sphere! I love the decorations too, I thought they were macarrons at first!

  17. Amy says:

    Such a beautiful bombe! I hope it tasted as good as it looks,

    Amy

  18. Ivonne says:

    That is a showstopper indeed, Linda! Wow! Happy New Year!

  19. I love the look of the round cake with the marzipan decorations! Beautiful, and I’m sure it tastes divine.

  20. Can’t wait to see the inside of your cake. But if the outside is any indication, I’m sure it’ll be just as gorgeous. Happy New Year!

  21. Y says:

    Ooh it looks great! Don’t forget to post that picture of the inside! 😀

  22. Jude says:

    I love how you shaped. Such a perfect job glazing. I love how you shaped it 🙂

  23. courtney says:

    Im gald you took this on. I know some people were challenged by it. Hiope you had a wonderful Christams.

  24. Ally says:

    I love your marzipan decoration, simple yet classy!

  25. Hannah says:

    Beautiful dome, I love this shape! You did a fantastic job, as always. 🙂

  26. Christy says:

    Linda I love the shape of your Christmas “log”!!! It’s so elegant and non-traditional. And you were right about the icing, it’s better to have it too runny than too set. Trust me.

    Love the marzipan truffles too!! Happy new year!

  27. Your entremet looks fabulous! Wonderfully done.

  28. Easy enough to miss about freezing in those 18 pages of text 😉

    Beautiful Log and great decorations Linda.

    A very happy new year to you and all of yours.

  29. You may think you didn’t do anything fancy with the flavors, but gracious the shape and layers are incredible! Wonderful job!

  30. Emilia says:

    It looks really pretty and the flavours sound so good 🙂

    I think that the bitter flavour of chocolate is delicious in desserts; I like it much more than sweet chocolate.

  31. Dee says:

    Happy 2009 Linda!

    Gosh, every time I visit you’re always doing something amazing 🙂 I don’t even know what a dacqoise is, but it sure looks great. This year, I’m going to follow your example and try out new techniques too.

    I’m bookmarking your panforte because it’s one of those things that have been on The List. Would it be odd to make one in February you think?

  32. Bria says:

    Beautiful! I wanted to do a dome shape too- its so stunning.

  33. Vera says:

    Beautiful dessert, Linda! I love the dome shape!

    Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

