Winter tea blend

I made this tea blend as part of the care package I gave to my family to conclude Christmas diner. The blend consists of black tea, dried orange peel, dried rose petals and crushed cinnamon sticks. Instead of searching for ready dried orange peel I made my own from organic navel oranges. It costs a few days before you can use the dried peel but it is so worth doing. The orange smell is intoxicating…yum! Especially when the peels are drying. The oranges themselves were the best I’ve eaten in years. I have a sort of love-hate relationship with oranges. I love pretty much anything orange flavoured, I can even say it’s my favourite flavour but when it comes to eating oranges I’m very hesitant. As long as I can remember oranges have been disappointing many times. They usually turn out either dry, not sour enough, not fragrant enough or with seeds (I hate that). After many disappointing oranges I sort of stopped eating them a long time ago. When I was very nauseaus whilst pregnant with my oldest son I tried eating oranges. We lived in Tel Aviv so the only oranges you could buy were locally grown and they were fantastic! Maybe they tasted even better because I didn’t like eating anything besides yoghurt with banana πŸ˜‰ Well the organic oranges tasted as good as the ones I ate back then. So whenever I buy oranges in the future in the Netherlands I will buy organic. They were so much better than regular ones. Probably because they were picked at the right stage of ripeness.

I’m degressing, I was talking about tea…so you dry your own orange peel. Chop them up and add them to the black tea, crushed cinnamon and rose petals.

The first blend I made didn’t have enough rose and orange taste so I added more. Unfortunately the tea didn’t taste very rose-y but I already doubled the amount and didn’t feel like buying more. Visually it does look very rose-y though. Maybe a different type of rose petals would have worked better but these were the only ones I could find.

The smell of this blend is so very good that you could just use it as a potpourri (if you are a potpourri kind of person) I couldn’t stop sniffing it and loved opening the cupboard my private little stash was in.

Dried orange peel

makes about 35 g (1 ¼ oz)

about 4 organic oranges

Cut of the peel, try cutting off the oranges part only (a little white pith is ok though). Let the peel dry on a cooling rack until dry. Can take up to a few days.

Winter tea

makes a lot πŸ˜‰

500 g (1 lb) black tea

50 g (1 ¾ oz) dried rose petals

35 g (1 ¼ oz) dried orange peel, finely chopped

15 g (½ oz) cinnamon stick, crushed

Mix everything together and keep in an airtight container.

Steep the tea for about 5 minutes to get the best taste.

This entry was posted in Drinks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Winter tea blend

  1. What a wonderful idea! I never made my own tea blend, but since I’m a tea lover I ber I could have fun doing this kind of things! Roses, oranges and cinnamon sounds delicious and fragant!

  2. Rosa says:

    A great tea blend! Like you, I like the taste of oranges, but have been too disappointed to buy any…

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  3. this surely looks fantastic and must smell good. I like oranges and cinnamon , fantastic combination πŸ™‚

  4. Hannah says:

    We’re really into tea around here, so this sounds like it would make a fantastic gift… And it’s so beautiful, too!

  5. courtney says:

    Now I never would have thougth of making my tea, but I love this idea.

  6. Vera says:

    This tea sounds wonderful, Linda!

  7. Wow, this looks delicious! I see I’ll have to start saving my orange peels. Hopefully my roommate won’t think I’m crazy.

  8. Lien says:

    Wonderful to make your own blend. I always make my own too (rooibos, lemongrass, lemon and orange, kardamom…). BTW where do you buy dried (and unsprayed) rosepetals?

    I fell in love… with that amazing looking spoon!!!

  9. Y says:

    What a beautiful sounding tea blend – and a great gift idea too! At home, I’ve got a white rose tea that I drink occasionally. It has the most delicate of fragrances.

  10. grace says:

    first of all, your utensil freaked me out a bit!

    secondly, there’s not a thing wrong with your combo of ingredients here–they’d make a fabulous, fabulous tea.

  11. Dee says:

    Aren’t you clever πŸ™‚ I LOVE that you made your own tea! When I saw the pack in your care package, I thought they were potpourri. Uhm, meaning they looked really pretty.

    Oh, there’s my favourite spoon again πŸ™‚

  12. Emilia says:

    That’s a great idea; I never thought about making my own tea blend, although I always make my own lemon pepper by drying some organic lemon peel and mixing it with some black pepper.

    I always drink a lot of tea, so this is something I will try.

    I also like the idea of the care package – we never do something like that here – but it’s so nice that we should really πŸ™‚

  13. Miri says:

    Dear Linda, first of all I wanted to wish you a very happy new year! Second, I think it’s so great you’re making your own tea blend, your family is so lucky to have received it! It looks so wonderful and I can almost smell the blossom scent from here πŸ™‚

    BTW – I agree very much, we do have some awesome oranges around here πŸ™‚

  14. ovenhaven says:

    This sounds absolutely perfect for rainy days in. I would have never thought of making my own tea blend! I’m a fan of tea, so this definitely looks enticing. Thank you for sharing this idea, dearie πŸ™‚

    Oh, and cinnamon + oranges? Perfect!

  15. aran says:

    how perfect linda. the colors are amazing and i can only imagine how fragrant it must be!

  16. snjezana says:

    first of all I wish you a very happy new year!:)))

    what a great idea to make your own tea blend. I can only imagine how fragrant it is…

    I buy organic produce when ever I can simply because I find it tastes better than the regular stuff.

  17. Arvid says:

    Hi Linda,

    Ja, Carla vond je blog, je weet, we houden nogal van koken en eten!

    Heb mijn blog adres even bijgevoegd en ik add jou even in mijn sidebar…

    Alles ok met jullie?

    Gr

    Arvid Hendriks

Leave a Reply

