Tahini spirals

Haven’t been baking a lot since Christmas, partly because I made so much for Christmas, partly because I’ve had my boys down with the flu and partly because I was just too tired to bother with baking. But I had this nearly full jar of sesame paste in my kitchen since Christmas and didn’t want it to become rancid. I do use it sometimes in savoury dishes but I wanted to make something sweet with it. Couldn’t find too many recipes though. These tahini spirals were one of the few. According to the book I found it in, it’s a recipe from Beirut. But after googling the Arabic name that’s in the book (sukkar bi tahin) I only found the same recipe from the book. So I guess it’s called differently, that is if it actually is a Beirut recipe 😉 So if there’s any experts reading this, please come forward and enlighten me 🙂

About the bread: it’s basicly a bread filled with a sugar and tahini mixture. The combination of tahini and sugar made the bread taste like halva 🙂 I liked the filling a lot but wasn’t totally convinced about the bread part. Maybe it was because the bread didn’t contain any salt. Probably I would have liked it better with a richer kind of bread, but that’s just me 😉

The amount of filling in the recipe wasn’t enough to fill the breads, the amount in the ingredients didn’t add up to the amount of tablespoons stated in the recipe. Below I added 50%. That should be enough.

Tahini spirals (from the Dutch translation of Home Baking: The Artful Mix of Flour and Tradition Around the World by Jeffrey Alford and Naomi Duguid)

makes 6

about 350 g (12 ½ oz) flour

¼ + ⅛ ts instant yeast (or ½ ts active dry yeast)

240 ml (1 cup) water

2 ts sugar

1 tbs olive oil

sugar for sprinkling

150 g (5 oz) tahini (sesame paste)

150 g (5 oz) sugar

Mix the flour, yeast and sugar. Add the water and oil. Mix until you get a dough. Knead the dough for about 5 minutes (add more flour if the dough is too wet, add more water if it is too dry).

Allow to rise for 2-3 hours or until doubled in volume.

Preheat the oven to 190°C (375°F).

Mix the tahini with the sugar.

Divide the dough in 6 pieces. Work with 3 pieces at a time. Roll the 3 pieces until you have 13 x 25 cm (5 x 10 in) rectangulars. Spread about 2 tbs of the tahini mixture on each rectangular. Roll up the dough from the long side. (according to the recipe this would make it stretch until 50 cm (20 in) long but that never happened in my case. I managed to slowly stretch it until it was 35 cm (14 in) long.) Roll the dough into a spiral. Brush the end with a little water and tuck it underneath the spiral.

Take the 1 spiral and flatten a bit with a rolling pin. Do the same with the other 2. Take the first spiral again and roll it out until about 16-18 cm (6-7 in). Repeat with the other 2 spirals.

Brush the 3 spirals with water and sprinkle some sugar on top.

Repeat with the other 3 pieces of dough.

Bake about 20 minutes or until golden brown. Allow to cool on wire racks.

This entry was posted in Pastries and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Tahini spirals

  1. Emilia says:

    Those look very tasty!

    I didn’t know that tahini could be used when baking something sweet, although I love it on bread with some raspberry jam, so I can imagine it would taste good 🙂

  2. Rosa says:

    Oh, I love tahini! This recipe sounds great! These spirals sure look good…

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  3. Maria says:

    I love your spirals! Nice job here!

  4. Dee says:

    In a world of brownies and lemon pound cakes, your blog is such a refreshing contrast. I love tahini in savoury but have always balked at using it in sweets. Didn’t you make some equally amazing looking tahini cookies too?

  5. grace says:

    i don’t think i’ve ever seen tahini in anything sweet, but i’m sure it succeeds wonderfully. thanks for the idea!

  6. natalia says:

    What a nice recipe !!! How are you getting along ??? Baci

  7. Hannah says:

    Good to see you blogging again! And with such a tempting recipe too.. I just love tahini in both savory and sweet things. 🙂

  8. Lien says:

    Hi Linda, Hope you are doing well!

    These tahini rolls look very good, I’d like one right now.

  9. Glad you’re back to baking! I think I would really like this, but after reading your thoughs, maybe I’d do it with another bread dough too.

  10. aran says:

    kids with the flu are so much work and i know this from experience. it has been quite the flu season here! i hope they are feeling better and getting healthy. and i hope you are feeling great!

    the rolls.. divine!

  11. Vera says:

    These sound great and look yummy, Linda!

    I hope your little ones are feeling better now. Please, take care!

  12. courtney says:

    You have your hands full. Glad to see you back. I never coi=nsidered adding Tahini to sweets. Wonderful idea.

  13. Sure can have the empathy for the boys with flu!

    The spirals look gorgeous. The filling intrigues me, I think I should try that.

  14. peterK says:

    They look very tasty, indeed. Never thought of using tahini in cakes and pastry. Have to try it, though.

Leave a Reply

