Ukrainian honey cake

I’m sorry about the lack of posting but I just don’t have the energy, neither for baking nor for writing nor for consistly reading all of the lovely blogs that are out there 😦 My youngest son is a fussy sleeper during the night and tends to wake up a few times. Of course this has its effect on mommy 😉 I just hope no. 3 will be more like no. 1 in terms of sleeping. He seems to be relaxed enough, kicking but not kicking too hard.. Let’s just hope that’s a good sign 🙂 A little less than 3 ½ month’s till D-day (or should I say B-day) so we’ll find out soon enough 😉

Even though I don’t have a lot of energy to bake and write blog entries I am pretty proud of myself that I’m studying a lot more actively the past few weeks 🙂 Trying to get as much things done before no. 3 arrives because after that I won’t be able to do a lot for a while. Hope I can keep it up till B-day…

I have several nice recipes that I want to try out (a few even yeast-based) I haven’t gotten round to doing them. But my brother’s birthday is coming up and I promised to make at least one cake. It won’t be anything fancy but just something tasty and something he loves.

During our little trip to London I bought some baking ingredients, stuff that’s either hard to find in the Netherlands or a lot more expensive. The Netherlands is not very forward if it comes to baking ingredients. Things like vanilla paste are very hard if not impossible to find (I told you: not very forward). Vanilla sugar with fake vanilla is the norm over here. You can find vanilla beans but the ones you would find in the supermarket are of poor quality. I have to go to an organic shop to buy organic vanilla beans because at least those are moist and bendable (contrary to most I’ve bought in the supermarket). So when I found vanilla paste in a supermarket in Bromley I was thrilled 🙂 Besides the vanilla paste I also bought rennet, golden syrup and black treacle. And with the black treacle I’m planning to try out Vera’s springerle recipe and see if I can finally use a cookie mold I bought over 4 years ago in Jordan. I’ve tried using short bread dough but I wasn’t able to get the dough out, well not complete and with the impression of the mold 😉 Vera’s recipe sounded like it could work for my mold so wish me luck 🙂

Trying not to let you down too much here’s a recipe of a cake with honey I made a couple of weeks ago. According to my book it is an Ukrainian recipe. It’s a spice and honey cake without a lot of butter and has strong coffee in it as one of the liquids. Seemed good enough to try out. I loved the texture of the cake, airy, moist but not too, and light because it only contains a little bit of butter. Even though they call it a spice cake in the book, the amount of cinnamon is minimal, and I even doubled it. Don’t know if something went wrong when they translated the book in Dutch but ⅛ ts seemed very little. And even the ¼ ts I added didn’t add much of a spicy taste (like I expected). But the cake was delicious despite it. Delicious with or without a spreading of butter with your tea or coffee.

If you like to actually taste spices I would recommend adding (a lot) more cinnamon and/or other spices.

Ukrainian honey cake (adapted from the Dutch translation of Home Baking: The Artful Mix of Flour and Tradition Around the World by Jeffrey Alford and Noami Duguid)

makes 1 loaf cake

2 large eggs, separated and at room temperature

100 g (3 ½ oz) sugar

170 g (6 oz) honey

4 tbs butter, melted and cooled

240 g (8 ½ oz) flour

1 ts baking powder

¼ ts cinnamon

pinch of salt

120 ml (½ cup) strong coffee, luke warm

Preheat the oven to 175°C (350°F). Butter and flour a loaf pan.

Whisk the egg yolks with the sugar until they are pale and thick. Add the honey and butter and stir until blended.

Sift the dry ingredients. Add half the dry ingredients to the egg mixture and stir until blended. Add the coffee and stir until blended. Add other half of the dry ingredients and stir until blended.

Whisk the egg whites until stiff. Carefully fold the egg whites into the batter.

Pour the batter into the loaf pan and bake for about 1 hour or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean. Allow the cake to cool down for 10 minutes before inverting it onto a wire rack. Allow to cool completely.

This entry was posted in Cakes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Ukrainian honey cake

  1. Rosa says:

    What a delicious looking cake! Mmmhh, it looks extremely moist…

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  2. Hannah says:

    So good to see a sweet post from you again! This cake looks so golden and moist… Just wonderful. 🙂

  3. Lien says:

    Glad your still feeling alright! Brave girl keeping up the studies! I’ve baked this cake once and I really love it too, I agree with you on the spice part though!

  4. deeba says:

    Oh that does look yum. Like the idea of the coffee in the batter! Take care of yourself & catch some rest!!

  5. 1/8 teaspoon hardly seems worth bothering with but maybe this is suppose to be about the honey. Looks very beautiful and sounds lovely.

    That loss of energy thing is such a drag. I always thought that was a way the body protected us, make us slow down when the body has so much other work to do. Take care.

  6. bridget says:

    Oh, that looks so soft and fluffy 🙂 I almost can smell it through the monitor.

    And about inspiration, don’t give up, hard times comes to everybody. I also am going through sad, bad, boring times, but after feeling pretty much down, i punch myself and then i force myself to find inspiration. For example – buying a new plate, spoons, coctail mixer, going to nice gourmet food stores, watching food tv programs, spotting nice recipes books in the bookstore and so on. Try – maybe this will help. As for the energy – a good warm bath with a sea salt and berry creams (also don’t forget a yellow bath duck) – is a perfect energy booster, and good mood ,too 🙂

    I was amazed by your blog, when i found it and i still follow your recipes, that, i think, are great, you are inspiring many people, so we are with you 🙂 Take, care,,

  7. Niels says:

    En dat neem je toch wel mee voor de volgende keer!?

  8. theis cake is very interesting. Wish to try it. looks yummy. Hope you ll feel better and that your son sleeps at night 🙂 Keep up the studies you re making. good luck

  9. grace says:

    honey, i’m home! what a moist and terrific and gorgeous cake. and yes, i’d definitely add more cinnamon. 🙂

    hang in there, linda!

  10. What a nice dense cake! Don’t worry about blogging, just focus on your baby(ies)!

  11. Aran says:

    i understand completely linda. my son is a terrible sleeper too. we were doing ok for a while and then he got sick and we have been up all night with him for the last 2 weeks. it takes its toll on mommy for sure. and then you have one other one on the way and an older one so you have your hands full!

  12. Dee says:

    I now what you mean. Eli’s a night waker too. I hope No 3 turns out to be like your first. Meanwhile, just take it easy, and try not to worry too much about blogging or visiting. You’ve got a lot on your plate 🙂 That cake looks good but my honey isn’t very good.

  13. courtney says:

    I loved shopping in the UK for baking /sugarcraft. I purchased some Rennet, but had a disatorus outcome.Curious to see what you do with it. As for blogging and keeping up, I, just barely getting by and I dont have kids or pregnancy:-)That honey cake would go perefctly with some cream tea about now.

  14. natalia says:

    Ciao ! nice seeing you !!I hope you will rest and be ready for your baby and I hope super mamma strenght will come out !! Beautiful crumb !!

  15. Emilia says:

    I hope you will be able to sleep better soon and the pregnancy keeps going well 🙂

    Fake vanilla sugar is the norm here too, but real vanilla paste is easy to find too in some gourmet shops, luckily, I’d much rather use the paste than the sugar.

    That cake looks delicious! The addition of coffee sounds interesting.

  16. ovenhaven says:

    Don’t worry about missing out on blogging, dearie! So glad to hear you’re all well 🙂

    The honey cake looks splendid! I’m sure it would taste great with a cup of warm chamomile tea 🙂

  17. Bev says:

    the cake sounds lovely, I like the coffee addition.

    I know how you feel on energy, my newborn is actually a very good sleeper despite being the most energetic kicker during pregnany. Although he has started to have a period between 8pm and 11pm when he will not sleep, and the crying is draining because my toddler is one of those never sit still give me lots of attention types!

    Being a mummy is tiring, but I reckon you are doing a fab job x

  18. arfi says:

    that loaf looks moist, Linda. Perhaps, I can just have a little pinch of it to have a taste?

  19. prjanik says:

    This cake tastes great! I tried it out today. Thanks for the receipt 🙂

  20. Vera says:

    Linda, dear, I don’t know how you can get any rest with two little kids?! I barely get any with just one 🙂

    Your cake looks yummy and moist. Thanks for mentioning my post 🙂

  21. Amalia says:

    I know this cake and is really good !

Leave a Reply

