Daring Bakers – Flourless chocolate cake with Arabic coffee ice cream

I did a trial version of this month’s Daring Bakers challenge half way through the month. I made 3/5 of the recipe (as in I used 3 eggs instead of 5). This was plenty to fill two 15 cm (6 in) springform pans. I baked them less than the designated 25 min but this turned out being too much. The inside was still moist but the sides were pretty crumbly and dry-ish. I used bittersweet chocolate with a 56% cocoa content but I thought the end-result turned out on the bitter side. In sum: I wasn’t swept off my feet.

So at the end of the month I repeated the recipe and this time only used 2 eggs and baked it in a small square baking pan. I used the same bittersweet chocolate but only used â…” of it. For the remaining â…“ I used milk chocolate. This time I tried to get it out of the oven when it had the right temperatur. It turned out somewhat higher but at least high enough to not pose a salmonella risk and not too high to make it dry. The combination of bittersweet and milk chocolate was just right, not too bitter, not too sweet. This version was much better than the one I made earlier in the month.

To accompany the cake I made Arabic coffee ice cream aka coffee and cardamom ice cream. This was so good I only ate 1/3 of the slice of cake and continued with just the ice cream. Didn’t want to spoil the ice cream experience by eating the cake 😉 And I’m not even an ice cream person! Coffee ice cream used to be my all time favourite but now it’s definitely Arabic coffee ice cream.

You can find the recipe for the flourless chocolate cake on the blogs of this month’s hosts: Wendy of WMPE’s blog and Dharm of Dad ~ Baker & Chef.

Arabic coffee ice cream

350 ml (1 ½ cup) heavy cream

150 ml (â…” cup) milk

4 cardamom pods, crushed

2 ts Turkish coffee (or coffee ground to a powder)

4 egg yolks

100 g (3 ½ oz) sugar

Bring the cream, milk, cardamom and Turkish coffee to a boil. Turn off the heat and allow to steep for 30 minutes.

Mix the egg yolks and the sugar until smooth.

Bring the milk and cream mixture to a boil again. Temper the egg yolk and sugar mixture with some of the hot cream and milk. Add the mixture to the hot milk and cream whilst stirring. Allow to cook gently for 2 minutes whilst still stirring.

Strain the custard through a fine mesh sieve and allow to cool down. Don’t forget to stir whilst it is cooling in order to prevent the development of a skin. Chill the custard in the fridge. Churn in your ice cream maker. Put the ice cream in your freezer.

The February 2009 challenge is hosted by Wendy of WMPE’s blog and Dharm of Dad ~ Baker & Chef.

We have chosen a Chocolate Valentino cake by Chef Wan; a Vanilla Ice Cream recipe from Dharm and a Vanilla Ice Cream recipe from Wendy as the challenge.

This entry was posted in Desserts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Daring Bakers – Flourless chocolate cake with Arabic coffee ice cream

  1. Rosa says:

    A nice flavor combo! Coffee and chocolate go well together… Great job!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  2. Hannah says:

    Very elegant presentation- And that coffee ice cream sounds fantastic! I wouldn’t have thought to include cardamom.

  3. Dee says:

    Wow, fantastic! I am definitely making the coffee ice cream. And as fate would have it, I have some Turkish coffee in the freezer 🙂 That’s close enough, right?

  4. Chez US says:

    Very elegant – I love your photos of this challenge. Coffee ice cream would be a great addition – it definitely needed something to go along with.

  5. courtney says:

    The ice cream sounds heavenly. Hope you are well.

  6. That coffee ice-cream looks delish !

  7. Elizabeth says:

    Arabic coffee! oh yum! Beautiful cake!

  8. Jude says:

    Love the texture on your cake. Seems so dense and rich but fluffy.

    The reasoning for the adjustments you made is so informative.

  9. jillian says:

    I wasn’t thrilled with the cake either, but good ice cream solves most problems! Looks great!

  10. Caitlin says:

    That ice cream sounds wonderful – coffee ice cream is my favorite flavor. Sorry you weren’t the biggest fan of the cake, but at least you had that ice cream!

  11. I did really enjoy this cake – used valrhona caraibe chocolate.

    Your ice cream sounds divine, coffee ice cream is heavenly.

  12. I love cardamom and coffee! This ice cream sounds great and I’m so sure it went great with the cake! I did the same thing, ate a bit of cake and a lot of my ice cream, lol!

  13. Lisa says:

    Beautiful photo and I love the idea of Arabic coffee ice cream, especially the cardamom pods. Very creative!

  14. Michelle N says:

    coffee ice cream, you can never go wrong when you add coffee to something. I love coffee! Your challenge turned out great, love your pictures.

  15. claire says:

    Mmmm…I love the way you plated this. Looks great!

  16. snjezana says:

    well done linda!:)

    that icecream looks so creamy.

  17. Vera says:

    Beautiful, Linda! And I can easily imagine how wonderful this ice cream tasted! I LOVE Arabic coffee!

  18. arlene says:

    Your ice cream flavor sounds wonderful. Great job on the challenge.

  19. natalia says:

    Cardamom and coffee sound great !! Hope you are very well, take care.

  20. Vibi says:

    Your simplicity will never cease to amaze me, Linda… how you make creative, imaginative, original and different with the basics… is like a diamond in the rough. WOW!

  21. Maggie says:

    The Turkish coffee ice cream sounds wonderful. I’m glad you go a chance to play with the chocolate balance. I think I would have liked mine a lot more with some milk chocolate to make it sweeter.

  22. The ice cream sounds delicious!

  23. breadchick says:

    That coffee ice cream looks wonderful!

  24. Ivonne says:

    I love the ice cream variations, Linda!

  25. asti says:

    arabic coffee.. how exotic. your photos are amazing. Simply stunning!

  26. ovenhaven says:

    The ice-cream looks perfect, Linda! Trust you to come up with an exotic flavour 🙂

  27. Everything looked so wonderful and delicious!The ice cream sounds so yummy with the caffeine kick!

  28. too bad about the cake, but the icecream sounds amazing! too bad i dont have an icecream maker 😦

  29. Emilia says:

    The cake looks delicious and the ice cream sounds a bit too good 🙂

    Coffee and cardamom is such good combination- my boyfriend makes cardamom coffee almost every morning, but I’ve never thought about trying some ice cream with the two flavours, but now I will have to try.

  30. Arabic coffee ice cream? Oh, I would love to try that. I’ve had Turkish coffee before, so I just imagine how intensely flavored this ice cream is. Just lovely.

  31. arfi says:

    mmmm… I’m tempted to try out that coffee ice cream… who knows if I still can eat it, huh? you did a great job on the cake as well. well done, Linda.

  32. chris says:

    He, hoe is ie? Nog steeds zo moe? Etentje zit er niet meer in denk ik voor b day 😉

    Liefs Chris

Leave a Reply

