Earl Grey cookies

I don’t think I mentioned we were going to Washington… well we did and came back a week ago 🙂 I wanted to post about it whilst there but somehow I couldn’t log on to my blog administration (and didn’t feel up to working out why). We where visiting friends of ours that recently moved there. We didn’t do too much site seeing because we were only there for 9 days and had to deal with a 6 hour time difference for ourselves and the boys. Saw downtown Washington the American way: from our car windows 😉 Didn’t go on a major shopping spree (doesn’t work that well with my big pregnant belly 😉 but I did enjoy going to a local supermarket (one of my favourite things to do while I’m abroad 🙂 All in all we had a wonderful time with great weather.

The cookies you see here I made a few days before we were leaving. I wanted to flavour them with bergamot zest but unfortunately I was too late in the season to buy them at my local health food store 😦 So instead I used a bit from the little bottle of bergamot essential oil that I’ve had for quite a while now to bring out the Earl Grey taste (the wise internet had informed me that Earl Grey tea doesn’t create a very Earl Grey tea-y flavour).

The cookie dough is a simple no-egg and no-baking powder dough that I’ve used before and like a lot as far as refrigerator cookies go. You get a crunchy, buttery cookie with a distinct bergamot/Earl Grey flavour. And the addition of the tea makes it look a bit prettier.

Earl Grey cookies (adapted from The Ultimate Cookie Book by Catherine Atkinson)

175 g (6 oz / ¾ cup) butter, room temperature

90 g (3 ½ oz / ½ cup) golden caster sugar

â…› ts bergamot essential oil

250 g (9 oz / 2 ¼ cups) flour

2 tbs black or Earl Grey tea

demerara sugar, for coating

Cream the butter and sugar together. Add the bergamot essential oil and mix until blended. Add the flour and the tea and use your hands to combine until you get a smooth dough. Roll into a sausage shape, then pat the sides to form a square log. Sprinkle a thick layer of demerara sugar onto a piece of baking paper. Press all sides of the square log into the sugar to coat. Wrap in plastic wrap and chill for at least 45 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 160ºC (325ºF). Cut the dough into slices of about 7 mm (¼ in) thick. Place on a non-stick baking sheet. Bake for 10-15 minutes or until just beginning to turn brown. Cool on a wire rack.

This entry was posted in Cookies (sweet) and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Earl Grey cookies

  1. what an interesting cookie. Sounds delicious though.

  2. Rosa says:

    I love that tea! Your shortbread cookies looks marvelous! Mmmmhhh…

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  3. deeba says:

    I love a good cookie, & this is just my kind of cookie!

  4. Emilia says:

    These sound and look delicious; I am such a big fan of bergamot tea, but haven’t thought of baking with the flavour, maybe I should try these cookies.

  5. This looks great. I would love to try it. I have never cooked with essential oils before. I thought of it, but wasnt 100% sure if they were suitable for eating. Are all essential oils ok to use in food?

  6. Lovely Linda. I really do want to try these. Earl Grey is my very favorite tea. I’ll remember to hint about the tea not flavoring a bake good like this, that makes sense. I think I know where I can get the oil 😉

  7. elra says:

    What a delicious and interesting cookie. I love earl gray, I am sure I am going to like this as well.

    Cheers,

    elra

  8. ovenhaven says:

    Welcome back, Linda! Hope you had a good trip 🙂

    The cookies look splendid! I’m a fan of Earl Grey, but never tried having them flavour my bakes before. Do these have the same texture as a shortbread cookie?

  9. Lien says:

    Great you had such a wonderful time, even if you weren’t as mobile. I love that too shopping in supermarkets abroad.. always buy too much.

    Love earl grey too, never heard of fresh zest, but they probably don’t sell that here anyway! Great looking cookies.

  10. Bev says:

    I love Earl Grey, I made a similair looking cookie using orange and Earl Grey but I think I like the idea of the begamot even more. I bet they were really fragrant when they were baking!

  11. Delsey says:

    Ok–is golden caster sugar light brown sugar??

    What is demerara sugar? where can I find it?

  12. aran says:

    perfect pairing with the earl tea and bergamot oil!

  13. Hannah says:

    There are far too few recipes that use earl grey, it really is such a wonderful flavor! I’m sure these cookies would be great alongside a cup of tea, too. 🙂

  14. breadchick says:

    I love the idea of using Earl Grey tea in refrigerator cookies. The square shape is perfect for this cookie.

  15. linda says:

    As far as I know you can use essential oils in cooking/baking as long as the product they came from is edible (things like orange, lemon, bergamot, lavender). Make sure it really is a natural essential oil!

  16. linda says:

    Not quite like shortbread, less crumbly and more crunchy.

  17. linda says:

    I just copied the name from the recipe 😉 I would say it’s the same thing or close enough to use.

  18. linda says:

    Demerara sugar is raw cane sugar…

  19. courtney says:

    You went to DC , my home owm. These cookies are so elegant.

  20. Farhan says:

    Hi linda! How are you and your little one and bigger ones?

    I’m 15 weeks along now.. Appetite getting better, hungry all the time and feeling generally good.

    I have a super sweet tooth now (sweeter than before) and your cookies look yummy!

  21. Jude says:

    So interested in making this. Any substitution suggestions for bergamot?

Leave a Reply

