Daring Bakers – Rosewater cheesecake with rhubarb mirror

It’s that time of month again…Daring Baker time! (In case it seems so long since you last saw a DB challenge…you’re right….I failed to do last month’s challenge…) This month’s challenge was cheesecake, a recipe from Jenny of JennyBakes.com. For me the challenge was to find a suitable pan to bake the cheesecake in because the recipe called for a water bath. And like most Dutch people, I only have springform baking tins. In the end I decided to go for a single use aluminum tart pan. It was not very high so I ended up with a not so high cheesecake. I made â…” of the recipe and that amount was exactly right for my pan.

The flavour combination of rosewater and rhubarb was something I planned to use for a different recipe but I couldn’t think of something nice for the cheesecake.

I was glad the amount of rosewater was just right (for ⅔ of the original recipe I used 1 ½ tbs of rosewater and also 1 tbs of lemon juice). To make the rhubarb jelly I defrosted (and heated) the cooked and sweetened rhubarb I had in my freezer and strained it. Added 2 leaves of gelatine to 200 ml rhubarb juice for the mirror.

To make the mirror I cut my cheesecake with a cake ring, left the ring on and poured in the rhubarb mirror. Chilled it and removed the cake ring.

I must say that I was quite happy about the results, the rhubarb was a very pretty colour and the layer looks neat enough. Unfortunately my crust was a little soggy, I think that was because I poured the mirror on top of the cheesecake while it was still hot. I was afraid it would jellify quickly because the cheesecake came from the fridge and I didn’t feel like creating a wonky mirror. Well at least it looked good 😉

As far as the taste was concerned, the rosewater tasted very good in the cheesecake but the rhubarb mirror wasn’t strong enough to give a good rhubarb flavour to the cake. It was nice and tangy to contrast with the sweetness of the rest of the cake though.

The April 2009 challenge is hosted by Jenny from Jenny Bakes. She has chosen Abbey’s Infamous Cheesecake as the challenge.

You can find the recipe here.

This entry was posted in Cakes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Daring Bakers – Rosewater cheesecake with rhubarb mirror

  1. Linda your cheesecake is stunning! I love the mirror on top! And you were so fast posting this month!

  2. Courtney says:

    yummy and so beautiful, love the flavor combo.

  3. Caitlin says:

    Oh, but it looks so pretty! I love the flavor combo too.

  4. Cupcake says:

    Very pretty! Nice job!

  5. deeba says:

    AWWWW…it’s beautiful. I did a mirror on the month’s challenge too! Your cheeescake is gorgeous!

  6. courtney says:

    Looks beautiful, simple, and pure. The rosewater is a lovely light touch. Sorry the rhubards didnt come through as strong, but I think the rose should be dominant.

  7. Rosa says:

    Gorgeous and so pretty! I love rhubarb! A great idea!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  8. Jude says:

    Wow. Rosewater and rhubarb. Love the seasonal choice in the rhubarb.

  9. Elissa says:

    Oh… I *love* your photography. It’s really, really beautiful! And the flavors sound just perfect. Rose is so elegant. This looks great 🙂

  10. Emilia says:

    That picture is really, really pretty!

    I love the combination of rosewater and rhubarb.

  11. Linda it’s gorgeous! Wonderful idea on flavor. Do you see any way to give it more rhubarb flavor? It sounds soo good.

  12. Vibi says:

    Ahhhh Linda! What technique, what perfectionnism, what skills you have.

    You never cease to amaze me, with that simple, to the point yet oh! so perfect way of making everything!

    OH! And yes… the flavour combination is as the rest… truly ingenious!

  13. jo says:

    Great job on your challenge and it looks really delicious. Great flavours.

  14. anna says:

    That’s so pretty! I love rose water and the mirror is gorgeous!

  15. What a very pretty cheesecake! I love the gloriously rich colour of the rhubarb glaze, and thank-you so much for giving the recipe!

    Congratulations on a great challenge entry!

  16. Hannah says:

    Wow, now that is one flawless cheesecake! I can’t believe what clean, straight cuts you made, and that mirror is just perfectly even too.

  17. Jen Yu says:

    I love the flavors you chose, but most of all, that rhubarb mirror is so lovely. Fantastic plating. I wish I could taste that!

  18. elra says:

    How beautiful Linda! Picture perfect and delicious.

  19. indosungod says:

    Looks absolutely gorgeous.

  20. breadchick says:

    That is one heck of a wonderful looking cheesecake with great flavor combos

  21. The rhubarb mirror sounds delicious!

  22. Vera says:

    It looks so delicate! And sounds delicious!

  23. Ivonne says:

    I used rosewater, too! I love the mirror!

  24. Tomoko says:

    Hello!

    I have been reading your blog every day from Japan. I made Sirnica a few days ago! Though I can’t get the rose water unfortunately, but it was great!very delicious!Thank you for a wonderful recipe!

  25. ovenhaven says:

    Picture perfect, Linda! I love how the different layers are distinctly separate. Beautiful artistry as always, dearie 🙂

  26. Y says:

    Pity about the crust. I still say that it really does look heavenly. Love the rhubarb mirror!

  27. Andrea says:

    In spite of the crust not turning out as you would have liked, your cheesecake is quite beautiful. The mirror looks stunning.

  28. It looks beautiful, and rhubarb sounds delicious!

  29. Lien says:

    amazing what a stunning cake. Great shot too!

  30. asti says:

    Stunning! the mirror glaze, the candied petals.. just gorgeous

  31. Natalie says:

    Wow your cheesecake is so pretty!! Looks delicious too!

  32. JennyBakes says:

    It looks so beautiful, and I love the use of seasonal rhubarb. I also like your creativity with using the pans and kitchen utensils available to you. Thanks for being a part of this challenge!

  33. The mirror looks so smooth and shiny. WOW what a flavour combination rosewater and rhubarb. Fab and beautiful pix, cheers from Audax in Australia

Leave a Reply

