Dark brown sugar meringues

Having a lot of egg whites left-over from my sirnica I made these delicious dark brown sugar meringues. I’ve made them before and I love the way the brown sugar is dissolved by heating the egg white with the sugar over hot water. I makes for a wonderfully meringue that is hard to overwhip (always practical 😉 Besides that I love the caramelly taste of the dark brown sugar. And most of all I love how they are crisp on the outside and wonderfully chewy on the inside.

They are supposed to look this cracked and rustic by the way. Probably by baking them differently you can get a more manicured look as well but I’ve never tried.

The original recipe has hazelnuts added as well which is also very good but I was just too lazy the cut them 😉 I blogged about the hazelnut ones some years ago here.

A little over 2 weeks to go before my due-date. But you never know, could be tomorrow, could be in 4 weeks 😉

Dark brown sugar meringue (adapted from Coffee & bites by Susie Theodorou)

makes about 18

75 g (2 ½ oz) egg white (about 2 egg whites)

150 g (5 oz) dark brown sugar

Preheat the oven at 150ºC (300ºF). Line 2 baking sheets with baking paper. Combine the egg white and the sugar in a heatproof bowl and set over a pan of simmering water. Stir occasionally until the sugar dissolves.

Remove the bowl from the pan and beat the mixture with an electric mixer for about 15 minutes until stiff. Make heaps of about 2 teaspoons of meringue, spacing them well apart.

Bake the meringues for 15 minutes. Turn off the oven and don’t open the door. Leave in the oven overnight before serving.

This entry was posted in Cookies (sweet) and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Dark brown sugar meringues

  1. njam, njam,a kako su na to unuci reagirali…pusu tata…

  2. Rosa says:

    I love that version! Your meringue look delicious!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  3. elra says:

    Wow, this “Dark brown sugar meringue” is indeed will make one life sweeter for sure!

    Cheers,

    elra

  4. Lien says:

    So beautiful those cracks. Mmm, I could use one right now to forget about all that rain 😉 (but maybe two is better)

  5. Zz. says:

    me loves meringues!

  6. courtney says:

    I love the idea o f using brown sugar for meringues. I have been usuing it more and more for baking.

  7. Hannah says:

    I’ve only heard of brown sugar meringues and haven’t yet tried them myself, but they certainly sound (and look) really tasty!

  8. Emilia says:

    Those look delicious 🙂

    I make meringue usually with some unrefined sugar, it’s a lot like brown sugar, but the consistency is more like superfine sugar, the taste is much better than with white sugar.

  9. Oh I do love this! Brown sugar is always my choice but I’ve not ever had it in meringues. Mush try!!

  10. ovenhaven says:

    Ah, you’re a saviour; I’ve mistakenly bought dark brown sugar (instead of light brown), and have no idea what to make with them. Will try this! Those look absolutely stunning, btw!

  11. Jude says:

    I had always assumed that meringues can only be made with regular sugar but I guess not. Will definitely give this a try.

Leave a Reply

