Strawberry and lemon pastry cream filled tart

10 days after my due date and still no sign of no. 3… I thought he would have announced himself by now but no such luck πŸ˜‰ He’s still doing well so I guess all we can do is wait till he comes and if he decides not to, I will be induced on Thursday so he’ll born Friday at the latest.

I’ll leave you with a strawberry tart I made for my mum on Mother’s Day. The crust is my favourite sweet shortcrust pastry from Donna Hay that I pretty much always use for tarts. Love the fact that it only uses flour, butter, a little sugar and some ice water. I love recipes with minimal ingredients πŸ™‚

The filling is a pastry cream I made last year as well but this time I was too lazy to separate eggs (and I didn’t want to have left-over egg whites either after having so many after making sirnica) so instead of using egg yolks only, I used whole eggs. Though taste wise it was ok, the colour wasn’t very pretty. Will definitely use egg yolks next time.

You will find the recipe for the pastry cream here. This time I didn’t use bergamot essential oil to flavour it but some lemon zest.

You will find the recipe for the sweet shortcrust pastry here.

Next time I post son no. 3 will be born :)))

This entry was posted in Tarts & Pies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Strawberry and lemon pastry cream filled tart

  1. this looks delicious! Your mum must have loved it πŸ™‚ good luck with baby no 3 πŸ™‚

  2. Peace and blessings, Friday at the latest!

    LOVE this tart! Glorious color and it looks wonderful to eat.

  3. Rosa says:

    That tart looks delicious! I’d love to eat a slice of it right now!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  4. natalia says:

    what a beauty your tart is !!!! I send you a super hug !

  5. Nothing says spring more than a strawberry tart, it’s very pretty and elegant. Hope all goes well with nr3, we’re all waiting!!!

  6. courtney says:

    Lazy Gemini child like my CS. Taking his time. Im keeping you in my thoughts that you have a safe delivery.The tart lloks scrumtious and your family sure is lucky that you make their life sweeter!

  7. Hannah says:

    Oh, the suspense… Good tactic to keep baking though; That tart looks good enough to tempt anyone out of hiding to grab a slice! πŸ˜‰ Best wishes, and here’s hoping the little one will come soon!

  8. these are so pretty! i love pastry cream!

  9. Ana Powell says:

    Hi Linda

    Congratulations, your work is great.

    Lovely recipes and pictures.

    Best wishes and congratulations for the whole family x

  10. Astrid says:

    Oh when I saw you had posted I was sure it was a birth announcement! All the best to you for the next few… hours?!

  11. Michelle says:

    Your tart looks beautiful. And many good wishes on the birth of your baby boy.

  12. Dragana says:

    Lovely blog Linda! What a beautiful cake. Exciting events happening for your family – keep us posted!

  13. GuitarKaj says:

    Great tart and just looking yummy. Thanks for sharing this – much appreciated.

  14. Beautiful, and how do you have the energy to bake??? Go rest and hopefully baby 3 will make his appearance very soon! Take care.

  15. Lucy says:

    Your tart looks so beautiful! Almost too pretty to eat…although I don’t think it would last very long at my house! Good Luck with the baby – I hope it arrives soon πŸ™‚

  16. Aran says:

    He must be born by now. I hope everything went well and that all of you are healthy and resting! Hugs!

  17. Dave Jones says:

    Tart sounds delicious,yummy and luscious.

Leave a Reply

