Got Milk? – a food blogging event

In two weeks time the World Alliance for Breastfeeding Action (WABA) is celebrating another World Breastfeeding Week to commemorate the Innocenti Declaration (1990). World Breastfeeding Week was first celebrated in 1992. Now it involves more than 120 countries and is endorsed by UNICEF, WHO and FAO. To celebrate this special week I’m organizing a food blogging event like I did last year. I nearly opted out to organise this because I’ve been pretty busy last month and a half with giving birth and moving the Vienna. In the end I felt I couldn’t miss the chance to promote breastfeeding. So I’m a bit late but I hope you can still join me with this event. Rules are as simple as last year: prepare a sweet dish with milk as an ingredient and post it on your blog if you have one, if not you can still enter. (you can find the specifics on this event below).

I’m currently breastfeeding my youngest of 6 weeks and everything is working out well (just like with my two other boys that I both breastfed for about 18 months). J’s already nearly gained 1 ½ kg (3 lb) and grew 9 cm (3 ½ in) on my milk 🙂

If you want to read a little about my breastfeeding experiences check out the post I did last year.

Every year WBW has a different theme and the theme for 2009 is:

BREASTFEEDING: A VITAL EMERGENCY RESPONSE

OBJECTIVES OF WORLD BREASTFEEDING WEEK 2009

– To draw attention to the vital role that breastfeeding plays in emergencies worldwide.

– To stress the need for active protection and support of breastfeeding before and during emergencies.

– To inform mothers, breastfeeding advocates, communities, health professionals, governments, aid agencies, donors, and the media on how they can actively support breastfeeding before and during an emergency.

– To mobilise action and nurture networking and collaboration between those with breastfeeding skills and those involved in emergency response.

RATIONALE

– Children are the most vulnerable in emergencies – child mortality can soar from 2 to 70 times higher than average due to diarrhoea, respiratory illness and malnutrition.

– Breastfeeding is a life saving intervention and protection is greatest for the youngest infants. Even in non-emergency settings, non-breastfed babies under 2 months of age are six times more likely to die.

– Emergencies can happen anywhere in the world. Emergencies destroy what is ‘normal,’ leaving caregivers struggling to cope and infants vulnerable to disease and death.

– During emergencies, mothers need active support to continue or re-establish breastfeeding.

– Emergency preparedness is vital. Supporting breastfeeding in non-emergency settings will strengthen mothers’ capacity to cope in an emergency.

(from: http://worldbreastfeedingweek.org/themes.htm)

DETAILS FOR Got Milk?

– Got Milk? is open to bloggers and non-bloggers.

– Entries submitted to Got Milk? must be made specifically for this event (pictures can be submitted to things like DMBLGiT though)

How to enter?

1. Prepare a sweet dish with milk as an ingredient.

You can use any type of milk (cow, goat, sheep, …), non-dairy is allowed as long as is something that is generally substituted for milk.

2. Blog about it between August 1st and August 7th and link back to this post

3. Send an email to: linda AT kovacevic DOT nl with your:

– name

– approximate location

– blog name

– blog url

– name dish

– permalink dish

– picture (maximum dimension of 150 pixels)

Non-bloggers: email me your name, location, name of your dish and a picture of your dish

Looking forward to your entries 🙂

Oat-choc-nut cookies (adapted from Good Food magazine March 1998)

200 g (7 oz) butter at room temperature

40 g (1 ½ oz) caster sugar (very fine sugar)

90 g (3 oz) light muscovado sugar or ‘lichtbruine basterdsuiker’

160 g (5 ½ oz) self-raising flour

140 g (5 oz) porridge oats

100 g (3 ½ oz) white chocolate, chopped

100 g (3 ½ oz) bitter sweet chocolate, chopped

100 g (3 ½ oz) pecan nuts

Preheat the oven at 180ºC (350ºF).

Beat the butter with the sugar until light and fluffy. Stir in the flour and oats. Stir in the chocolate and nuts. Shape into 20 balls and put them on baking sheets lined with baking paper. Flatten them slightly. Bake for 20 minutes.

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Got Milk? – a food blogging event

  1. Rosa says:

    A great event!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  2. sweetie says:

    great cause! tres leche anyone? ; p

  3. courtney says:

    Always liked this event. Maybe now I can try what i really wanted to do last year.

  4. This is a great idea! I remember you doing it last year. I’ll try my best to come up with something “milky” ;)!

  5. Dorothy says:

    what a great event! i’m definitely going to work on a recipe!

  6. arfi says:

    I just posted a homemade Oreo Biscuits, if it’s illegible for this event, then I’ll update it. However, I’ll be looking forward to participating on your event, Linda. Great cause!

  7. What a great event! I am also nursing right now, my little one was born on July 1st. I have a lot of blogging events I’m trying to get done in between, but I am hoping to do this one as well! (Congrats to you!)

  8. Di says:

    I’m excited to see that you’re doing this event again this year. Now I just have to figure out what to make! And congrats on the new baby. I hope things are starting to settle down after moving.

Leave a Reply

