Daring Bakers – Milan cookie truffles a la peche Melba

I’m terribly, terribly late with this month’s Daring Bakers challenge…I should rephrase that: last month’s challenge! I made the Milan cookies one day late but they didn’t turn out the way I needed but the heat here in Croatia (where I’m on vacation) didn’t make me feel like redoing them.

I had two problems: I didn’t have a plain nozzle to pipe rounds and the star form piped rounds I had didn’t spread well on the baking paper. Trying without baking paper didn’t work either because the cookies got stuck to the baking sheet.

So I was left with very small, not completely round, vaguely star-shaped cookies. Too small to fill and just not pretty. So I had to come up with a plan B. Plan B was to make truffles. Only it took me a while to actually finish making them.

I made the ganache with white chocolate, cream and peach puree. To that I added freeze dried, crumbled raspberries. Rolled the ganache in balls, rolled them through the crumbled cookies and finally dipped them in white chocolate.

I loved the taste of the ganache, the subtle peach taste and small pieces of raspberry gave a fresh twist to an otherwise sweet ganache. The use of fruit puree in ganache is definitely something I’ll experiment with in the future.

As I expected the cookies didn’t stay crisp but at least I used them 😉

The July Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Nicole at Sweet Tooth. She chose Chocolate Covered Marshmallow Cookies and Milan Cookies from pastry chef Gale Gand of the Food Network.

This entry was posted in Chocolates and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Daring Bakers – Milan cookie truffles a la peche Melba

  1. courtney says:

    I love the idea of fruit puree in the ganache.Better late than never.

Leave a Reply

