Daring Bakers – Lebkuchen macarons with dark chocolate ganache

Finally I made macarons 🙂 and all because they were last month’s Daring Bakers Challenge. Like the last few months I’m late in posting but this time I did actually finish the macarons on the 27th but still had to make the filling, fill them, photograph them and blog about them. And that took till now 😉

Though I love the look of vibrant colours in macarons, I didn’t think it fitted the lebkuchen flavour I had in mind. I was inspired by the shops here in Austria that carry about a zillion different types of lebkuchen towards Christmas…yum! The filling was a simple dark chocolate ganache which was a delicious match for the spicy taste of the macaron shells.

I baked the first batch as the recipe stated but drying the shells in the oven didn’t work out well for me. The shells sunk in while they were waiting for the oven to reach 190 degrees Celsius. Unfortunately they didn’t magically rise during baking. Besides that problem, the shells browned too much because of the high baking temperature. They did develop feet but they didn’t look like they were supposed to. The next two batches I went with one of Tartelette’s recipes: air drying the shells for 30-60 minutes and baking them at a lower temperature. The first of these batches I should have baked a little longer but the second came out more or less perfect…I was happy 🙂 The lebkuchen spices were delicious and the ground spices made the macarons browner than I antipated.

All in all making macaron’s wasn’t difficult and I even got the feet the first time round. Not sure if this was beginners luck or not but we’ll see how future batches will turn out. Next time I’ll try a more vibrant colour 🙂

The 2009 October Daring Bakers’ challenge was brought to us by Ami S. She chose macarons from Claudia Fleming’s The Last Course: The Desserts of Gramercy Tavern as the challenge recipe.

This entry was posted in Cookies (sweet) and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Daring Bakers – Lebkuchen macarons with dark chocolate ganache

  1. Lebkuchen now that is unusual for an Australian tastebud. I’m so happy you made macarons so well they look perfect and Helen’s recipe is the best you were clever to use it after the 1st batch wasn’t up to it. I think the DB recipe is very hard for beginners. Great feet and nice colour and love the sushi plate. Cheers from Audax in Australia.

  2. Ah there you are. Great flavor filling. You make miss Austria.

  3. Rosa says:

    They look perfect! I love that flavor! Very seasonal…

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  4. Astrid says:

    Beautiful! I can’t believe they’re your first. I was curious when I read the recipe about the two-stage approach to baking. I guess it’s not a simple solution to all macarons problems, sigh.

  5. Lori says:

    Glad I wasn’t the only late poster! Yours look yummy!

  6. natalia says:

    Ciao ! Your idea sounds great I wish I could try one !!

  7. What an awesome idea Linda!!! That’s a perfect flavour for the holidays!

Leave a Reply

