Daring Bakers – Gingerbread house

On the last day of the year I bring you this month’s Daring Bakers challenge 🙂 A challenge much to my liking I must say: making of a gingerbread house. A tradition that is not Dutch (or Croatian) at all. I very much enjoyed making the model, and decorating and constructing the house (even though my dough didn’t roll out very well as it kept cracking and I burnt my finger during construction with caramel).

After reading on the DB forum that one of the given recipes turned out very dry I checked the cup and metric measurements. There was a big difference between the amount of flour in cups and grams. I went with the cup measurements which was 200 g less flour than the metric measurement. Even though the dough was not really dry it didn’t became a whole. Could be because part of the flour I used was not very finely ground. An hour after making the dough I realized that I forgot to add the baking soda… oops! Didn’t think it would be a problem and maybe even an advantage as it wouldn’t puff up. Rolling out the dough (after another knead to make it come together a little more) couldn’t be done without the dough cracking. After baking the texture/look of the gingerbread was a bit odd and besides that it shrunk but the cookie was sturdy and kept its shape beautifully.

For decoration I went with natural items like almonds, pink peppercorns and pumpkin seeds. The icing is an egg white free icing that I’ve used before and like working with. It doesn’t dry up rock hard but hard enough imo.

Instead of decorating the roof after baking I used a small circular cutter to imprint the tiles for the roof. The imprints stayed exactly like they were after baking.

I assembled the house with hot caramel…always tricky to work with without burning oneself 😉

I loved doing this challenge and will be making a gingerbread house next year as well 🙂

HAPPY NEW YEAR TO EVERYONE!

The December 2009 Daring Bakers’ challenge was brought to you by Anna of Very Small Anna and Y of Lemonpi. They chose to challenge Daring Bakers’ everywhere to bake and assemble a gingerbread house from scratch. They chose recipes from Good Housekeeping and from The Great Scandinavian Baking Book as the challenge recipes.

This entry was posted in Cookies (sweet) and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Daring Bakers – Gingerbread house

  1. Rosa says:

    Oh, it is so perfect and pretty! Amazing!

    Best wishes for 2010!

    cheers,

    Rosa

  2. Jill says:

    How beautiful your house is!! I really like the shape and the simple details–and what a great job you did on the roof! 🙂

  3. Lori says:

    A beautifully decorated home. I particularly love the roof. well, I love the front details as well- looks very Switzerland.

  4. it is so pretty! really like the shape and the simple details! i particularly love the roof!!

  5. chriesi says:

    A wonderful house! Happy New Year!

  6. natalie says:

    wow this is simply stunning. perfect. happy new year. hope your finger healed

  7. nadege says:

    Bonne Année 2010 !!!

  8. natalia says:

    Ciao Linda ! Great House ! I love the decorations you made !! Hope everything is good and that you will have a wonderful year !!

  9. Jenny Tan says:

    That’s such a lovely gbhouse! Love the details! Happy New Year!

  10. Zz. says:

    prachtig lin!

  11. fairy_mi says:

    Linda!

    What can I say?

    Your gingerbread house is amazing!

    It is definitely the most beautiful result I saw so far at this challenge.

    I really love the decoration style, and the shutters are soooo cute!

    You are truly a talented baker, wtg for the fabulous job!

  12. Lucy says:

    Your house is so beautiful! You have such clever decorating ideas, I love how you created the roof tiles.

  13. Courtney says:

    Now yours is just gorgeous! Hope you had wonderful Holidays.

  14. The house came out beautiful Linda! I love the shape of it and the way you did the roof! Happy new year by the way!

  15. Hannah says:

    Oh, I really love your gingerbread house! Especially the way you did your roof… It’s so elegant and “realistic”. 🙂

  16. I like your gingerbread house. It looks so simple but the details are so great! I made one last Christmas and I was not contented with it.

  17. ovenhaven says:

    Beautiful details! Your gingerbread house looks so classy 🙂

    Here’s wishing you a great 2010, filled with much love and joy!

  18. Paula says:

    You house is too cute! It looks like it belongs on a snowy mountain! Great job:)

  19. Astrid says:

    Beautiful house, really full of charm and style! And quite different from the candy-laden extravaganza my daughters and I usually put together.

Leave a Reply

