Daring Bakers – Tiramisù

When this month’s Daring Bakers challenge was announced I have to admit I wasn’t thrilled. I’m probably the only person in the world that doesn’t like tiramisù. But after reading the recipe I started getting more and more interested in making it and was hoping that maybe this was the tiramisù recipe, the one that I would actually appreciate. Making all the different components for this dessert was rather time consuming but was fun doing: making your own mascarpone, making zabaglione, making pastry cream and making lady fingers.

I think I cooked the cream and lemon mixture for the mascarpone a little too long as it turned out pretty firm. Even after whisking it wasn’t very smooth. I was waiting for the mixture to curdle/thicken but this didn’t happen that much. So I kept it above simmering water a long time but it never really happened. The mixture barely released whey after draining but it still was very firm. Next time I would just buy mascarpone 😉

Making the zabaglione and pastry cream was straight forward and didn’t cause any problems. I did check that the zabaglione reached the right temperature for the egg yolks to be cooked enough to be safe (better safe than sorry).

I didn’t realise that the amount of mascarpone used in this recipe was very little when I decided to not use the whipped cream but to replace it by whipping up the left over whites (don’t like left over eggs that much). I thought this would make it less heavy (something I don’t like in ‘regular’ tiramisù) but with the small amount of mascarpone, this wasn’t necessary at all. Again I cooked the egg whites over simmering water just enough to make them safe before whipping them.

My lady fingers were only dipped up till the flat part because I don’t really like the booziness that much but after tasting I should have dipped them completely.

Because I used whipped egg whites instead of the cream the mixture didn’t set as much as it should. The tiramisù in the picture was frozen, that way I could cut it neatly. I really, really loved the taste of this tiramisù but that’s probably because it doesn’t resemble the one’s I ate before 😉 What I loved so much was the addition of lemon zest and the fact that it wasn’t so incredibily fat and boozy. I do want to try making this again but will be using the required whipped cream. And to make it less time-consuming I’d use ready-made lady fingers (which are very good in Austria) and ready-made mascarpone.

All in all a wonderful challenge, maybe from now on I’ll actually love tiramisù…but only if I make it myself 😉

The February 2010 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Aparna of My Diverse Kitchen and Deeba of Passionate About Baking. They chose Tiramisu as the challenge for the month. Their challenge recipe is based on recipes from The Washington Post, Cordon Bleu at Home and Baking Obsession.

This entry was posted in Desserts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Daring Bakers – Tiramisù

  1. ap269 says:

    Good job on the challenge. I also had problems making the mascarpone and it turned out way too firm. Will give it another try, though.

  2. Ellie says:

    Lovely tiramisu. Very nicely done.

  3. Rosa says:

    Nice layering! Your Tiramisu looks delightful!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  4. Mary says:

    It looks lovely and the meringue sounds like a great way to lighten it up a bit. I may add some to the filling mixture next time I make this.

  5. deeba says:

    Looks very very good. Thanks for being a good sport. I love the cross section; it’s beautiful!

  6. Aparna says:

    Your tiramisu looks prettty good to me. And I’m happy you’re a Tiramisu lover now. Frankly, I’ll never eat this out ever again!

    Btw, the mascarpone drains very little whey (about 2 to 3 tsps).

    Thanks for baking with us.

  7. Natalie says:

    Linda – You did a gorgeous job on your tiramisu. Like you I’m not a fan of these types of desserts, although my husband loves anything with egg custard. I served this at a dinner party and the guests just loved it, the only part I really liked was the chocolate ganache I used to coat the ladyfingers. This was a great challenge to expand and work on baking skills.

    Natalie @ Gluten a Go Go

  8. Yours turned out gorgeous – would never think it too firm (mine was too soft I was so afraid of cooking it too long). I enjoyed this recipe too though I’m not a fan of tiramisu out either, but realizing now how time consuming it is makes me appreciate so much more.

  9. courtney says:

    Well done my friend. I actually preferred the honemade version as compared to what we see out there.

  10. Sandy says:

    Beautifully done, I can taste it already !

  11. fairy_mi says:

    yummmmm!

    As always your result is fabulous-

    this tiramisu looks sooo delicious!

    so soft and creamy… and lovely layers.

    Beautifully done!

    greetings from Israel

    and happy purim!

    Inbal

Leave a Reply

