Daring bakers – Chocolate pavlova

The dessert that nearly wasn’t, late but made!

This month’s DB challenge was chocolate pavlova, the recipe used a mascarpone chocolate mousse-y cream and a creamy crème anglaise based sauce.

In my opinion the amount of sauce is way, way, way too much. I used half the recipe (also made half the mousse) and only used about 1/4. But maybe that’s because I don’t like drowning desserts in sauce. The sauce was not very exciting but it tasted nice creamy and vanilla-y. I think I will churn the remainder into ice cream.

I didn’t use the exact meringue recipe as I didn’t want to dry out the meringues completely. And with a household of little children I don’t want to expose my children to raw or semi-raw eggs. So I opted for a cooked meringue recipe instead and undercooked the meringue in the oven. Unfortunately the meringue was a bit too soft to hold shape so I couldn’t make real pavlova shapes and ended up with disks. They worked just as well though.

The mousse was pretty bitter but the meringue and sauce sweetened that up so everything balanced out in your mouth. I misread the recipe and accidentally used all the cream to make the ganache. That meant I was missing a lot of cream that needed to go in whipped. I added about half the amount I needed to whip with the mascarpone, so my mousse had more cream inside. Also I chilled the ganache and whipped that too before adding it to the mascarpone whipped cream. Turned out nice and firm luckily and I was able to use it 🙂

I wasn’t too thrilled with the recipe when I read it but it turned out tasting well and balanced 🙂

You can find the recipe at here Doable and Delicious.

The June 2010 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Dawn of Doable and Delicious. Dawn challenged the Daring Bakers’ to make Chocolate Pavlovas and Chocolate Mascarpone Mousse. The challenge recipe is based on a recipe from the book Chocolate Epiphany by Francois Payard

This entry was posted in Desserts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daring bakers – Chocolate pavlova

  1. Rosa says:

    A wonderful pavlova! I love the macaron-like base…

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  2. How cool! It looks like a giant macarron!

Leave a Reply

