Daring Bakers – Swiss swirl ice cream cake

A quick post from our vacation in the Netherlands to bring you this month’s Daring Bakers challenge. A pretty cake to make indeed this month! Even though I’ve made a similar cake 2 years ago (without ice cream but with mousse) I was looking forward to making a similar cake again. I used my own recipe for the Swiss roll as I wanted to do it like I did 2 years ago: cut the cake into two layers and thus creating a thinner and more flexible cake to roll. The filling was a apricot cream which turned out not to be orange enough. I served this cake on the day the Netherlands played the football (soccer) final, unfortunately the orange semi-ball shape didn’t help much 😉 We had friends with children staying with us so I made the ice cream filling child friendly: vanilla, banana and strawberry. Everybody loved the cake. I loved the look of the cake but as I’m not much of an ice cream fan (except for coffee ice cream), I wasn’t too excited about the inside.

I loved the look of the cake that I made for my birthday 2 years ago more than this one because of the pretty colours and decoration. But the fresh fruit (with red currants from our garden 🙂 made the cake look pretty too.

Here’s a picture of the cake I made 2 years ago for my birthday:

The July 2010 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Sunita of Sunita’s world – life and food. Sunita challenged everyone to make an ice-cream filled Swiss roll that’s then used to make a bombe with hot fudge. Her recipe is based on an ice cream cake recipe from Taste of Home.

This entry was posted in Desserts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Daring Bakers – Swiss swirl ice cream cake

  1. Sue says:

    Your present and past swirl cakes are both exceptional! Beautiful job! The flower on the green one is awesome!

  2. Rosa says:

    Both versions are fantastic! Your cakes look so pretty and scrumptious. Great job!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  3. bravo lipi…pusu momcima mama i tata

  4. Sabine says:

    Your cakes look so beautiful. I love how you decorated it with the fruit.

  5. jana says:

    i loved the fruit in your photo! perfect accent!

  6. Kim says:

    Both of your cakes look beautiful! I can’t believe how tightly rolled you were able to make your swiss rolls. Nice job on the challenge!

  7. Lisa says:

    Both your bombes are gorgeous – perfect swiss rolls, perfectshape, stunning decor, and outstanding flavors. Those should be 5-star restaurant bombes – seriously. You are one talented lady!

  8. Aparna says:

    Both your cakes look beautiful. I think the pale orange works perfectly overall.

    Maybe you needed to have served the cake to the team. 🙂

  9. Poonam says:

    Love the look of ur bombe,, it is very pretty :))

  10. Renata says:

    Definitely one of the most beautiful bombes on this challenge! BRAVO!!!

  11. Elle says:

    Was rooting for the Dutch, too. Love your cake, including the beautiful fruit decorations. Your Swiss roll swirls are quite delightful and delicate looking. One of the prettiest bombes I’ve seen.

  12. Joanna says:

    Amazing! Love the flower decoration… is that white chocolate? Great job on June’s DB challenge… isn’t baking in groups fun 🙂

  13. Wow, I love both cakes very much, second is more beautiful. I wish I can taste it through the internet.

    I am amazed how you find time with 3 kids to make wonderful food and blog! wow.

  14. Zoran says:

    i like 🙂

Leave a comment